Jump to content
Scottbohlmann

Fight Definition

Recommended Posts

Hey all

So my girlfriend and I played our first game last night. We had a disagreement about the term “fight”. 

So, if a creature attacks, it is obviously fighting. But is the defending creature also considered to be fighting? 

The question came up over Bigtwig. His card states he can only fight stunned creatures. Obviously he can attack stunned creatures, but what happens when other creatures attack him? If he can only fight stunned creatures does he simply deal no damage back to the attacker? Or, if the term “fight” only applies to the attacker, is he able to defend himself? 

It also came up over Skirmish. Does it apply on defense also since it is “fighting” or is it only on attack?

Thanks, hope I was clear there. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fight is a special word.

when you use a creature you can: reap, action/omni, or fight  with it. This is the “fight” refered to by bigtwig. 

Skirmish effectively causes the attacking creature with the skirmish keyword to take no return damage from the targeted creature’s power dealt. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Quote

FIGHT

When a player uses a creature to fight, the player exhausts the creature and chooses an opponent’s creature. Both creatures deal an amount of damage equal to their power value to the opposing creature in the fight, and both are “fighting” for the purposes of card effects. (Rules, p10)

However...

Quote

SKIRMISH

When a creature with the skirmish keyword is used to fight, it takes no damage from the opposing creature when the damage from the fight is dealt. (Rules, p11)

In short, both creatures are fighting. But only the attacking creature is being used to fight, since you can only use creatures on your own turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...