Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
jtstrick84

WHY IS THERE RADIO SILENCE REGARDING RULES UPDATES/BALANCE CHANGES?

Recommended Posts

FFG hasn't said a word regarding the Qui-Gonn/Luke's Protection infinite loop. Nor have they said anything about plans to address the draw your whole deck round one decks. Not even a short article saying "Hey, we're aware of these things and we're working on them." 

We are less than 2 weeks from the first Regional kicking off and players have absolutely no idea what they should be testing because we don't know if any changes are on the horizon or when to expect we might see them.

 

 

Edited by jtstrick84

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One of the side effects of trying to be a full-fledged competitive CCG right out of the gate.

It takes years for a game to develop to the point where tournaments and a mature meta really makes sense. Many CCGs have fallen by the wayside before they built up enough to properly have that chance, yet FFG is attempting to reach that height just because they feel like they should be able to.

Perhaps one day Destiny will grow enough and have a deep enough player base to become a stable, well-supported and widely-played CCG. But it certainly isn't there now, and FFG risks shooting themselves in the foot if they try to push it to that level before it's ready.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I see that. Unfortunately, the Aerial Advantage makes Han in a hero deck not work. I'm sure the change to a card's "cost" may have some other negative implications on cards we have yet to discover. 

Still no indication of when to expect the RRG to be updated or balance changes to be made to disrupt the absurdly broken draw the whole deck, play long con a bunch of times, kill your opponent round 1 stuff.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, jtstrick84 said:

I see that. Unfortunately, the Aerial Advantage makes Han in a hero deck not work. I'm sure the change to a card's "cost" may have some other negative implications on cards we have yet to discover. 

Still no indication of when to expect the RRG to be updated or balance changes to be made to disrupt the absurdly broken draw the whole deck, play long con a bunch of times, kill your opponent round 1 stuff.

I don't think it does affect Han, since the hang up with Aerial is that spotting a red character is a play restriction and not a may like the other 2 effects. While similar, Han's effect I think is a case of "do x, then you may do y and/or z" and the triggering effect is doing damage. Idk, they'll probably have to address Han and a few other effects though like you said for clarification.

I recall someone saying that any RRG they put out has to have Disney's approval so that might be the hold up. That said, I think those decks are fine and as long as you know that's what you're up against, you can hit them hard since they run so little removal with disrupt and discard effects, or take out characters for spot effects(red for award ceremony for instance).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, jtstrick84 said:

Unfortunately, the Aerial Advantage makes Han in a hero deck not work.

It took me a minute to see what you were saying. Now, I understand your complaint, but I disagree.

The Aerial Advantage clarification says that you must meet the requirement to do the first (non-optional) sentence before you can do the followup sentences (which are optional, because they include "may"). It doesn't say that you have to meet the requirement for the second (optional) sentence to do the third. So I don't think that affects Han.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
35 minutes ago, Fromper said:

It took me a minute to see what you were saying. Now, I understand your complaint, but I disagree.

The Aerial Advantage clarification says that you must meet the requirement to do the first (non-optional) sentence before you can do the followup sentences (which are optional, because they include "may"). It doesn't say that you have to meet the requirement for the second (optional) sentence to do the third. So I don't think that affects Han.

Based on what they've said about Qui Gon's lightsaber, which also includes a MAY operation, I don't see how it can't break Han in hero decks.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...