Jump to content
whyhe

Pitlord VS. Restringuntus

Recommended Posts

This may be the most asked question but does the rule of you do what you can, not come in to play with this combo?  When it is the player with Pitlords turn they are unable to choose Dis because Retringtus has chosen Dis as the house you can not play. So at this point doesn't this not mean that Pitlord falls under the do what you can and ignore the rest rule? Would you not ignore Pitlords game text because you can not choose Dis?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pitlord prohibits you from choosing a non-Dis house.

Restringuntus prohibits you from choosing the hosue it was set to.

You get locked out from choosing a house because if you control Pitlord and you opponent plays Restinguntus set to Dis. Thus you have to pass each turn.

The only way you can win is if you had more than enough aember to forge your third key and your opponent couldn’t take enough to stop you since you forge keys before choosing your house.

Edited by Hyperjayman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is the answer most everyone gives. However, I still wonder if the cant do so don't rule applies. Because the opposite could be said for this that because Pitlord tells you that you must then it overrules Restringuntus. It really comes down to which holds more weight in the game. Must or Cant. And if you say cant then the rule of you can't do it so don't would ably here.  If not would you still be able to Omni Cards? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The effects don't conflict.  You can't choose Dis and you can't choose [not-Dis].  The rules cover what you do: play your turn with no active house.  Pg 10, House Choice:

HOUSE CHOICE

Each turn, a player must choose one of the three houses indicated by their identity card, if able. Some card abilities may restrict a player’s house choice. If a player has gained control of a card that does not belong to one of their three houses, that card’s house becomes an eligible choice for that player while the player retains control of the card. If there is no legal choice of house, the player plays the turn with no active house. If a player is faced with two (or more) “must choose” mandates, the player may choose either of those options.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, gwaynebarber said:

Omni abilities could still be used as they are not restricted to the selected house. 

Important to remember, Omni abilities could be used but cards with Omni abilities could not be played.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...