Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
SmartCookie

Retreating from coexistence battle

Recommended Posts

The Imperial player is the attack in coexisternce battle. But were does his untis retreat/rout to?

The rules clearly state were defending units can retreat to and that the attacking units stay in their original region but what if that region is the region the coexistence battle is taking place in?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Routing page 31:

If an attacking unit routs, it is removed from the ongoing battle and remains in its origin area, unless that area is already marked with one of the attacker’s routed activation markers, in which case the unit is eliminated.

Retreat page 30:

If the attacker retreats, he does not move any units from their origin areas. All of those origin areas (i.e., those that contain units that were engaged when the retreat was announced) are marked with routed activation markers as described for the defender, above.

End of battle page 30:

If battle ends and no defending units remain in the target area, the attacker may move all, some, or none of his surviving
engaged units and Heroes into the target area. Otherwise, surviving engaged units and Heroes simply remain in their respective origin or target area.

I don't think the target/origin region have to be seperated. So I think the units of the attacker stay in the region after retreat/routing (unless there is already a routed activation Marker in the area, then routing will destroy the unit!)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Veldrin said:

But wouldn't that allow the Imperial player to "retreat/stop" the coexistence battle as the attacker and stay in the contested region? 

First, when the Imperial player is the attacker so the traitor is the defender. As the defender the Traitor can choose who will be the active player in the first combat iteration. The rules say that "During every combat iteration other than the first, the active player can retreat" so there have to be at least 2 or 3 rounds of combat iteration (Traitor first - Imperial retreat or Imperial first - Traitor second - Imperial retreat). So there must be a combat and probably some damage for both players units.

If the Imperial Player retreats, his "origin areas (i.e., those that contain units that were engaged when the retreat was announced) are marked with routed activation markers". So yes, I think his units stay in the area but he has to put a routed activation marker there which I think is worst because your units there are blocked much longer than with a normal activation marker.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...