Jump to content
Pheonom

Alternate Ending - Demons and Dragons

Recommended Posts

Hi everyone,

I've created an alternate ending that focusses on summoning enemies (by losing a life), capturing (by killing the enemy) and delivering (reaching the Crown of Command with 'x' amount of enemies).

On paper I think this is a challenging win condition designed for the more experienced player, however I would appreciate input on what I've created so far, along with observations of any glaring errors or balance issues.

I don't tend to play with the corner boards, so this ending has been designed with the standard board in mind.

Demons-and-Dragons-Front-Face.png

Link to Demon and Dragon enemy cards:

https://ibb.co/album/m96kVa

 

Edited by Pheonom

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The fourth rule on the Ending card is redundant. And the second and third rules on the card should have an asterisk at the beginning of the sentence. The third rule should read "... next to your character card." or something like that instead of "...to one side." Otherwise, it's not clear if the captured should be stacked together.

It's quite a difficult ending, though. By losing to an enemy from the D and D deck, you make them spread even more, I like that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/10/2018 at 1:34 PM, Cru4n said:

The fourth rule on the Ending card is redundant.

 

I see where you're coming from. I added the clarification to avoid the "so can I capture this regular dragon?" question. Although rule 3 does seem to cover that base - I'll consider removing rule 4.

On 11/10/2018 at 1:34 PM, Cru4n said:

And the second and third rules on the card should have an asterisk at the beginning of the sentence.

 

I've not seen this before, why the * (asterisk)?

On 11/10/2018 at 1:34 PM, Cru4n said:

The third rule should read "... next to your character card." or something like that instead of "...to one side." Otherwise, it's not clear if the captured should be stacked together.

 

Agreed, I'll change that.

On 11/10/2018 at 1:34 PM, Cru4n said:

It's quite a difficult ending, though. By losing to an enemy from the D and D deck, you make them spread even more, I like that.

1

Thanks! I've found that our group end up being a little overpowered at the 3-hour mark (if we don't battle each other much) and the regular endings were getting a little stale.

I wanted something challenging without being over the top, but something that people could work towards from the beginning. It puts players under pressure to seek out the D&D cards, knowing they need to defeat them to win the game, while also knowing they could lose and spawn another card (which would potentially remove a useful card from the board).

The mechanic for drawing cards whenever a player loses a life came about due to wanting to try a new way of drawing cards for players to encounter. Then I thought about linking this to an alternate ending without them being regular Adventure cards, so that they didn't get lost in the 400+ card Adventure deck I have.

Finally, the reason I wanted to "discard any other cards there" when a D&D card is placed, was purely to keep the board fresh. Sometimes Talisman can get boring when the same cards stay on the board for the whole game and block potential spaces to draw something new and exciting.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, Pheonom said:

I've not seen this before, why the * (asterisk)?

Well, it's actually not an asterisk. It's a star icon from the Frostmarch rules:

Alternative Ending Cards generally only affect
characters on the Crown of Command. However,
instructions that have a star icon at the
start of their text affect all characters, no matter
what Region they are in, including characters
on the Crown of Command.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...