Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Elder Thing

Status of monsters engaged with a defeated Investigator

Recommended Posts

Please can someone clarify what the status is of monsters that were engaged with a Investigator who is defeated. Are they still Exhausted until the next Monster Ready Phase? Or, do they immediately become Ready again, and immediately engage another Investigator if there is one in the same space?

Thanks for any help.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Elder Thing said:

Please can someone clarify what the status is of monsters that were engaged with a Investigator who is defeated. Are they still Exhausted until the next Monster Ready Phase? Or, do they immediately become Ready again, and immediately engage another Investigator if there is one in the same space?

Thanks for any help.

Under 202.3 Monster Attack Step:

Quote

202.3c  If an investigator is defeated during the monster attack step, they disengage from each monster that they were engaged with and exhaust them. (See rule 444.6.)

202.3d  Only engaged monsters deal damage and horror. Ready and exhausted monsters are not engaged and do not deal damage and horror. (See rule 453.2.)

So, when the investigator is defeated, the monsters that have not attacked are immediately exhausted.  It would engage and attack other investigators if not for this, because of rule 467 Ready:

Quote

467.5  If a ready monster is in the same space as an investigator for any reason, it engages that investigator. (See rule 427, “Engage.”)

Happily, they are exhausted by the death of the investigator.  (Wait, happily?)  ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Many thanks for the responses. I missed the correct section in the Rules Reference, so thanks very much for pointing it out. I don't find the Rules Reference particularly easy to use. The cross-referencing in the index isn't particularly well done.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×