Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Kylearan2

Figures in Trees and Sniper/Precision

Recommended Posts

Hi,

 

the Skeleton King's Sniper upgrade lets skeletons shoot through one figure or obstacle; the skill "Precision" does the same for a hero. As far as I know, trees count as obstacles, so the sniper skeleton should be able to shoot through it, correct? But what about a figure in a tree - are they counted as one obstacle (as it is only one tile), or two (as there are two sources in that tile that can block LoS)?

 

A "sensible" explanation could go like this: Since a tree grants shadowcloak, the figure in it cannot be seen by ranged attackers and hence cannot block LoS. But I'd prefer clear and consistent rules (yes, I'm really playing Descent *rolleyeys* gui%C3%B1o.gif) over "sensible" explanations. Any ideas?

 

Thanks,

        -Kylearan

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My group ruled that the tree counted as an obstacle, therefore the tree and the effects of the tree were negated, although that wouldn't have worked if they'd shot through one tree into a character standing in another tree

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would also say it is one obstacle.

Kylearan said:

 

A "sensible" explanation could go like this: Since a tree grants shadowcloak, the figure in it cannot be seen by ranged attackers and hence cannot block LoS. But I'd prefer clear and consistent rules (yes, I'm really playing Descent *rolleyeys* gui%C3%B1o.gif) over "sensible" explanations. Any ideas?

 

 

Just a quick note, a shadowcloaked figure still blocks Line of Sight. There is nothing about the shadowcloak ability that affects Line of Sight. A shadowcloaked figure simply cannot be harmed by attacks that don't originate from next to it.

So while it would be sensible to say that a shadowcloaked figure does not block line of sight, it isn't consistent with the rules. gran_risa.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...