Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Oklahoma33

What if two cards say conflicting things?

Recommended Posts

I have Pitlord. He says that I must choose Dis as my active house.

My oppo plays Restringuntus that says I can't choose the house he declares (Dis) as my active House.

Which is the rule in all conflictual cases?

Edited by Oklahoma33

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a feeling the negative (you cannot do this) of any conflict would win, you would have to pass your turn.

You have to pick DIS due to Pitlord, but your opponent says you cannot choose DIS, therefore, you have no other option to choose and have to pass.

We'll see if they FAQ it at some point.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You do as much of a card as you can right? So when Pitlord says you must choose, but you cannot I’d say you’re free to choose one of the other two.

 

That’s just an opinion though, FFG might rule differently (but I doubt it).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rules say that "If there is no legal choice of house, the player plays the turn with no active house." If two cards say "you must" you can choose one of them, but this situation is a "you must" combined with a "you must not". Technically, playing with no house choice satisfies both conditions. (You must choose Dis as your active house - but if you have no active house you need not choose Dis)

Thus, most so far have interpreted the restringuntus + pitlord as a lock for the pitlord player. It's a dangerous card to play (but can be powerful).

I don't recall if there is an official ruling on it or not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From the rules under House Choice:

If there is no legal choice of house, the player plays the turn with no active house.

 

Be very careful when or even if you decide to play Pitlord.  I've seen more than one game end because the Pitlord player was simply shut out of a game due to bad planning...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The golden rule is that the cards take precedence to the rules, there is no rule that gives priority to cards that say cannot over those that don't.

So in this case as @dperello states, you don't have a valid choice and must play without an active house, which I assume would allow you to play Omni cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, dperello said:

From the rules under House Choice:

If there is no legal choice of house, the player plays the turn with no active house.

Where did you see that? I went looking, and the closest I could find was the golden rule of cards taking priority over rulebook. Which normally is fine, but choosing an active house is so central to the progression of the turn that I would like verification.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...