Sign in to follow this  
markcsoul

Who else hasn't played 2.0 yet??

Sadly I have yet to play any 2.0 games yet.  I haven't been to my LGS in probably over a month thanks to things that keep coming up on the night they do X-Wing.  I could go on vassal, but I really want my first few 2.0 games to be "live action" so to speak.

I haven't even purchased anything from 2.0 yet, if you exclude the tie reaper and saw's renegades.  Though I do know what list I want to run initially in 2.0.

Anyone else who hasn't played 2.0 yet?  I hope I'm not the only one!

My last game was at the NOVA open. I have all the 2.0 stuff still in their unopened boxes. I'm a teacher and school started that week, and have been super busy. I'm itching to get organized and play, hopefully I can find some time this or next weekend. 

hadn't had a chance to get conversion kits yet. given how little i played 1.0 i'm not terribly worried about that though. if anything it will be nice to learn about it from others first, so i can hopefully avoid some of the learning curve.

Until tonight, I was with you.  Then I played a game.  

It was every bit as bad as I expected.

I learned, among other things, that Ion Cannon Turrets are rubbish.  They barely put out one damage per turn, even against 1-evade ships.  I didn't get a single ionization.  And the new turret mechanic simply sucks.  I learned that Y-Wings are even easier to kill than ever.  And I learned that there are builds, including Scum Lando/Shadowcaster, that can reliably put out 5-6 dice attacks, use multiple mods to generate 4+ hits with multiple crits, AND pass out stress to make it impossible to do anything about it.  This is directly contrary to the FFG party line about how broken combos were going to be a thing of the past, token stacking and multiple dice mods were out, and blah blah blah.  The fact that such builds are possible means that they inevitably will find their way into the meta, and indeed BECOME the meta.