Pewpewpew BOOM

2.0 Firespray

I played Kath a bit when I started playing X-Wing, and I was really pleased to see the Firespray become a more viable ship in 2.0. The titles really change the character of the ship which adds a lot to the list building fun (for me at least).

I finally got in my first post-release game this week. I flew Marauder Boba, Palob, and Sunny vs. the new Leebo & Roark buddy hotness.  My opponent is a strong vet player and this was his first run with his list.  Double tap I7 on the YT-2400 is tough.  Perceptive copilot on both Palob and Boba allowed me to better weather all that fire. Eventally Palob dropped, then Roark, then I boxed Leebo in at the board edge and in two turns he was not able to pull of a manuever that would not at least get a corner off-board. 

The Firespray’s lack of linked actions is a big deal (and surprised me).  Han is the next best thing, so many folks now have the cards stappled.

I hear this is debated, but my interpretation of Han’s wording is that it trigggers just before his ship engages...which means the red Focus action would occur after both I7 incoming shots.

As such, I did not use Han once. PerCo made me not miss it so much.  The ship’s blue-poor dial also make stress a bit more of a thing. 

I am thinking that, in the end, Slave 1 may be a better pick for Boba vs. experienced players. That goes doubly so if one encounters lists with many ships. Boba wants to be in range 1; his ability makes it so he can boost into it with less risk.  Being an I5 knife-fighter, blocking is a real issue.  

I am interested to hear about your experiences with the Firespray. 

Linked action on Firespray would be broken beyond belief.  It's already the most token efficient platform in the game.  No need to make it worse.  If you want to see true abuse of Boba, run a coordinate shuttle with him.  Giving him a linked action via coordinate would take his already off the chart action efficiency and make it worse.