Sign in to follow this  
persondude

Wrapping my head around Ring approaches

I'm new to the setting, and I love the flavor of using rings instead of traditional brawn, charisma, etc. That said, I'm having trouble differentiating some of the approaches, or figuring out how to apply them in certain situations. It seems like there's some overlap between fire and water for example, as both are "strong" approaches; and how would you use the fire approach to, say, perform a tea ceremony? Staying super stoic in social situations sounds like you'd only ever be able to use earth (or maybe air?). Then there's the fact that certain approaches sound like they're required for certain activities: using fire is specified to compose a poem or otherwise create new art, for example, although I can see how a less passionate, more academic approach might use earth.

I've only read the beginner box at this point, so maybe I just haven't got far enough yet for things to become clear, but if anyone has links to a big cache of examples, that'd be cool.

The beta document, on DrivethruRPG, has a list for each skill what the different approaches do.

If I'm remembering right, Poetry (Earth) would represent you recalling a poem you heard before, and retelling it. Fire is the innovative approach, it doesn't necessarily have to be passionate, just new.

https://www.drivethrurpg.com/browse/pub/6/Fantasy-Flight-Games/subcategory/36_28812/Legend-of-the-Five-Rings-5th-Edition&affiliate_id=210075

Edited by Hida Jitenno

There's also a big list of approaches for each skill in the Book 3 rulebook of the beginner box. Certain actions are limited to certain rings and it is up to GM discretion. For example, the adventure book specifies the tea ceremony should be a Void check. The act of performing the tea ceremony is simply just trying to perform it correctly. 

Edited by ElSuave