Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
imrandy85

Upcoming Rules Reference

Recommended Posts

There's an "Upcoming Rules Reference" listed under the 2.0 docs.  Haven't gone through it yet but here's the link: https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/2a/57/2a57fdb2-e13f-4d58-b9db-bb082dd23dcc/swzrulesreference_v102.pdf

Rules will be effective 9/28/18

Edited by imrandy85

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for posting!

Nothing too surprising or major as far as I can tell, here are some highlights from a quick scan through:

- locks only fail if there are no valid targets
- failed red actions still give stress
- you cannot perform an action if you already performed it this round OR attempted to perform it and failed
- ships that deploy (or dock) during the system phase don't activate that turn

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

RIP the Han triple-tap, which was super legal RAW until suddenly it's not.

RIP the E-Wing Composure gimmicks, which were super illegal RAW but now people will hopefully stop trying.

Red failed actions makes repositional links and Composure a bit worse. Maybe only on (white) jam/coordinate ships, now?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On the other hand, the Vizago trick from the FAQ sounds hilarious. It also includes our first error, as they seem to have intended to write Cloaking Device instead of Stealth Device.

Still, the option for Vizago to swap Cloak and Rigged Cargo on ships that normally can't carry them sounds so delightfully scummy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
31 minutes ago, HolySorcerer said:

A shame about Saturation Salvo.  (Also, it is equally funny/sad that the bomber is better at saturating a target than a punisher is)

Yeah, I really don't get why they kept the Talent upgrade slot off Punishers and K-wings. Without physical cards, there's no longer any need to restrict the number of slots a ship has if things make sense for it. Plus, it would give the Empire a use for those expert handlings in the conversion kit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yay they finally clarified that [turret icon] and [front arc] are COMPLETELY SEPARATE and end that annoying argument about "well its pointing forward so its a front arc now"

though they did miss the "attack range 1" problem, where its possible for ships to be touching out of arc, but according to the rules...in arc theyre not touching. Theres no way they intend that to be legal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Vineheart01 said:

yay they finally clarified that [turret icon] and [front arc] are COMPLETELY SEPARATE and end that annoying argument about "well its pointing forward so its a front arc now"

though they did miss the "attack range 1" problem, where its possible for ships to be touching out of arc, but according to the rules...in arc theyre not touching. Theres no way they intend that to be legal.

RANGE BONUS
During an
attack
, the attacker or defender can roll additional dice depending
on the
attack range
. For attack range 0–1, the attacker rolls one additional
attack die during the Roll Attack Dice step. For attack range 3, the defender
rolls one additional defense die during the Roll Defense Dice step.
Range bonuses are applied for all attacks unless stated
otherwise. Some
special weapons
have a small ordnance
icon on them to indicate that range bonuses
cannot be
applied with attacks using those weapons.
Although the range bonus applies at range 0, a ship cannot normally
perform a primary attack at range 0.

That's the closest bit to stating you can't attack ships at range 0 of you, but I'd agree it's not clear enough at the moment.

It's obvious that the intention is that you can't attack a ship at range 0 of you unless an upgrade or ability says otherwise, but the rules don't (yet) confirm that explicitly that ic an see..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rules do say you can't attack at range zero most of the time. Most weapons have a range, like 1-3. Range 0 is not included in range 1-3. The design space does allow for range 0 weapons though.......

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, Mep said:

The rules do say you can't attack at range zero most of the time. Most weapons have a range, like 1-3. Range 0 is not included in range 1-3. The design space does allow for range 0 weapons though.......

But range is measured in arc no? So you can be touching with side arc, but from the front arc still have range 1 and thus can fire.

That would be something to fix

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...