Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Ubjub

R3 Astromech and Composure

Recommended Posts

R3 Astromech: You can maintain up to two locks. After you perform a lock, you may aquire a lock. 

 

Composure: After you fail an action and have no green tokens, you may perform a focus action. 

 

My question is: can you intentionally fail a lock action to trigger Composure, and because a lock action was performed then aquire the additional lock. To end up with a lock and focus? 

 

My apologies if this has been addressed elsewhere. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/16/2018 at 4:50 AM, Ubjub said:

R3 Astromech: You can maintain up to two locks. Each lock must be on a different object.  After you perform a lock action, you may aquire a lock. 

Composure: After you fail an action, if you have no green tokens, you may perform a focus action. 

Fixed the card text a bit for you.

As to whether or not this interaction works, I would point you at this excerpt from the rules reference under the "FAIL" section.

Quote

An effect that fails does not trigger any effects that would occur after a ship resolves that effect.

So if you fail a lock action, then you cannot trigger any abilities that would occur "after you perform a lock action" so you may be able to get the focus, but you would not acquire a lock as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good take, @joeshmoe554: that second lock isn’t an action, so if it fails, it doesn’t trigger Composuer’s “after you fail an action.”

However, R3 also says “after you perform” not “after you acquire.” So, if the first lock fails, would that still trigger the second lock of R3, as well as composure? No, because the only way for a lock to fail is if nothing (even rocks) are not at range 0-3.

Rules Reference:Lock (page 12) says “Choose another object at range 0-3.” It does not say “may choose”. Rules Reference:Card Interpretation (page 2) says “… all effects that are not ‘may’ effects are mandatory”. So, Locking effectively reads as“You must choose another object atrange 0-3.”

Brining that all together, if the only things in range 0-3 are another ship and a rock, and you have R3, you could:

  1. lock the ship, pass on the second lock
  2. lock the rock, pass on the second lock
  3. lock the ship and the rock

If there was only a ship at range 3 (no rocks), you could lock the ship and pass on the second lock. But because that second lock is not an action, failing that lock does not trigger Composure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...