LordCola

Arquitens Rant

Arquitens Rant

Right away I want to state that I am playing the game since Jan this year. So I am not a very new player nor am I a very experienced player. Many of my gripes with the ship will come down to its terrible movement chart and the fact that at my skill level it is basically necessary to run the ship with exclusively navigate commands. Maybe experienced players can get more out of this ship but the game needs to be balanced for every skill level.

I also wanna state that I am not an expert on game balance and as stated above I am not necessarily the most experienced player, so take my opinions on balance with a grain of salt. What I want this thread to be is a place where I can state my frustrations with this ship and hopefully a place where you can teach me how to better use the Arquitens.

So what I want to do is compare this ship to the Neb and the CR90 and the conclusion will be that the Arquitens is just strait up worse than these two ships for a higher point cost.

So I wanna start with the Nebulon B. First of all the Neb navigates way better. This allows the ship to use other commands than just Nav.

Now let's look at pure fighting strength. The Neb has a very comparable armament to the Arquitens and both have a Turbolaser slot. But the Neb has an easier time to get those Concentrate Fire Command (because unlike the Arquitens it does not have to constantly use Nav commands) and it has access to the very good title Salvation which raises its DMG EV per red die from ¾ to 1. That means the Nebs DMG EV from its main arc is 3 while the Arquitens' is 2.25. And with the easy Concentrate Fire Commands its DMG EV rises to 4 compared to the 2.25 from the Arquitens. This is almost twice as much DMG as the Arquitens does! So clearly the Nev is just superior to the Arquitens in pure fighting strength. (Also I will never forget the Sato Neb that just casually rolled 11 DMG in a single attack)