Jump to content
Bigulf

Luke3 with Aturu Strike

Recommended Posts

15 hours ago, Lusiphur05 said:

You know what else says showing......

Resolving Dice, need to all show the same symbol (You would Resolve Luke's die as melee when resolving shields instead of when resolving melee, does anyone play it like that?)

Resolving dice with a modifier side needs to show the same symbol. (Luke's die would never be able to be resolved with a +melee side weapon)

But since, every one agrees those are possible and Ataru Strike follows the same pattern, it works. Otherwise be prepared to tell the Luke player he cannot do the above since if it doesn't work for Ataru, it doesn't work for them either.

Except it doesn't. 

RESOLVE DICE

Each side of a die may have a symbol on it (see page 9). A player may resolve one or more dice in their pool that have the same symbol, one at a time (unless adding a modified die, then the dice are resolved simultaneously). To resolve a die, a player must pay any costs and carry out the effect represented by the symbol on that die. Then they return it to the card that it came from.

Yes, they all need to have the same symbol; there isn't any debate whether that works with Luke. The issue is specially about the word 'showing' on Ataru Strike. To me, if you can resolve Luke's dice with Ataru Strike, then 'showing' means something other than the actual common definition of the word showing (not to mention the definition in their own rules). And that's stupid.

My disagreement is very much with 'it shouldn't work this way', rather than what the actual ruling is. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 minutes ago, Abyss said:

Yes, they all need to have the same symbol; there isn't any debate whether that works with Luke. The issue is specially about the word 'showing' on Ataru Strike. To me, if you can resolve Luke's dice with Ataru Strike, then 'showing' means something other than the actual common definition of the word showing (not to mention the definition in their own rules). And that's stupid. 

My disagreement is very much with 'it shouldn't work this way', rather than what the actual ruling is.

Same, I think of showing as what is on the die, and not what the die can be resolved as. So if you can resolve the Shield sides of his die as if they were Melee, it never changes what is showing on the die. So if showing doesn't mean what is on the die, then what does showing even mean?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/22/2018 at 2:23 AM, Joelist said:

Exactly. I'm not sure what is confusing anyone here. The card specifically says "resolve" before it says "showing", so once you execute "resolve" Luke's die per his ability is showing Melee. 

This is not how grammar works.  If it works because "resolve" comes before "showing", does that mean it doesn't work if my cards happen to be in French or Polish?  Because in those languages it's the other way around.

I'm pretty sure FFG is going to rule that it works, which is a really, really dumb thing to do.  It puts the rules into a sort of holistic "Did whatever I just did meet the requirement?" post-check, rather than a pre-check.  What you can resolve with Ataru Strike is a blue die showing melee.  You shouldn't ever be able to pick Luke's die to resolve because it doesn't meet that condition.  Instead what we're going to get is "Resolve an X die" basically means "Resolve any die you want, and then check once you're done to see if it was legal."

But whatever, it's not like rules stability has ever been a high point for FFG.  Destiny is heading down the exact same path as X-wing, where they try to start with super-light rules and it turns into a nightmare a few years down the road.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Omg I cant believe this is still going. It was ruled in Discord by one of the FFG world judges and an FFG employee that it works. If you don't like it send an email to them.

 

Trust us this was like a 600 post thread on facebook and very heated long discussion in Discord. It works.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, bravo29 said:

Omg I cant believe this is still going. It was ruled in Discord by one of the FFG world judges and an FFG employee that it works. If you don't like it send an email to them.

 

Trust us this was like a 600 post thread on facebook and very heated long discussion in Discord. It works.

I know it works right now. The problem is that it shouldn't work. Cuz Lukes dice never show Melee, they only ever show Shields.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...