Jump to content
Bigulf

Luke3 with Aturu Strike

Recommended Posts

Ataru Strike says "Resolve one of your Blue character dice showing melee damage, increasing its value by the number of shields on that character."

Luke says " You may resolve the shield sides of this die as if they were melee damage."

So, from the wording of both cards I would say no. Luke can resolve his dice as if they were melee, but his dice are still showing shield. But if FFG says yes, then I am all for it, cuz Luke should be able to Ataru Strike.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe this fell under the same concept of Zeb when resolving his dice.  So you resolve Luke's die as a melee and you can use Ataru strike.  Just remember though you can not use Luke's die as the melee part of the Synchronicity combo.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, that is the problem, either it works for both Ataru and Synch or it doesn't. The working on both cards is "showing Melee damage". So if this actually works, all you need for Synch is one of Luke's dice showing a shield, as it counts as both.

Logically this shouldn't work, so I am sure FFG will rule it does.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It makes sense. Think of Luke's ability as changing the shield symbol on the die to Melee for the instant of resolution. It is also why plus Melee sides on weapons do work with Old Man Luke. I'm not so sure about Synchronicity as it is an Event requiring dice showing both Shields and Melee, and Luke's die only turns Melee when resolving. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My problem with it is that Ataru Strike, Synch, Guard, and many other cards, all say that the die has to be showing Melee damage. Luke doesn't say his dice change symbols at all. He just says that you can resolve his Shields AS IF they were Melee damage. If they make Luke be able to use Ataru Strike then they should make him be able to use Synch, Guard, Counter Strike, etc., since they all say show Melee/any damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why would this work? Ataru strike says “resolve a blue dice showing melee” Luke’s dice aren’t showing melee they “can be resolved as if they were showing melee.” Luke’s ability should only work when your are completing the action of resolving  dice (melee), not the action of playing a card (ataru strike). 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Rafug9 said:

Why would this work? Ataru strike says “resolve a blue dice showing melee” Luke’s dice aren’t showing melee they “can be resolved as if they were showing melee.” Luke’s ability should only work when your are completing the action of resolving  dice (melee), not the action of playing a card (ataru strike). 

That is exactly what I think.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
45 minutes ago, Rafug9 said:

Why would this work? Ataru strike says “resolve a blue dice showing melee” Luke’s dice aren’t showing melee they “can be resolved as if they were showing melee.” Luke’s ability should only work when your are completing the action of resolving  dice (melee), not the action of playing a card (ataru strike). 

It works cause at the moment you resolve it, it is a melee symbol.  Like I mentioned before about Zeb's ability.  The resolving it turns it melee which allows the card to work.  The other cards state showing but not resolving.  I am not a fan of it but I see why it works.  This is also why you wont see an "Official" ruling from FFG as they already have ruled on Zeb's dice and it is the same thing in their eyes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What official ruling are you talking about? Zeb’s dice aren’t blue so ataru strike wouldn’t work on him, there is no rules clarification in the most current rules reference guide and I don’t see anything under official rulings. What card are you referring to with Zebs dice. You are not resolving dice you are playing a card that lets you resolve one blue character  dice that is showing melee. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
44 minutes ago, DemanKnght said:

It works cause at the moment you resolve it, it is a melee symbol.  Like I mentioned before about Zeb's ability.  The resolving it turns it melee which allows the card to work.  The other cards state showing but not resolving.  I am not a fan of it but I see why it works.  This is also why you wont see an "Official" ruling from FFG as they already have ruled on Zeb's dice and it is the same thing in their eyes.

Also “showing” and “playing a card” are both clearly defined terms in the rules reference guide. You don’t resolve the dice to you meet all requirements for the card you have to be showing a blue character dice with melee before the card effect is resolved. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think DemanKnight has it right here.

Ataru Strike has no condition for playing. It’s text reads “Resolve one of your Blue character dice showing melee damage, increasing its value by the number of shields on that character." So, the Event causes the Resolve action to activate for one die. Luke’s shield dice in the Resolve action are treated as if Melee and his dice are Blue, so he can avail himself of the benefit of the Event. 

This is also why Luke cannot use Synchonicity. Synchronicity specifically has a condition for playing - play only if you have dice showing both Melee and Shields. Luke’s dice only turn into Melee when Resolve is going on so they are just Shields. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
44 minutes ago, Joelist said:

I think DemanKnight has it right here.

Ataru Strike has no condition for playing. It’s text reads “Resolve one of your Blue character dice showing melee damage, increasing its value by the number of shields on that character." So, the Event causes the Resolve action to activate for one die. Luke’s shield dice in the Resolve action are treated as if Melee and his dice are Blue, so he can avail himself of the benefit of the Event. 

This is also why Luke cannot use Synchonicity. Synchronicity specifically has a condition for playing - play only if you have dice showing both Melee and Shields. Luke’s dice only turn into Melee when Resolve is going on so they are just Shields. 

“Showing” is clearly defined on page 21 of the rules reference guide Luke’s ability lets the die be resolved as if it was melee damage it does not say that it changes the die to be “showing” melee damage. Again if Luke’s die is showing melee damage then it would also be able to be removed by cards the say remove a die showing damage and those cards don’t work. why would this work? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The correct answer is yes, aturu strike works because as soon as you hit the condition 'resolve' it becomes melee.  You can't remove them because that condition is not hit when they are just sitting there.  That is the closest thing we have to a ruling right now and how it is being ruled in tournaments. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
20 minutes ago, dpuck1998 said:

The correct answer is yes, aturu strike works because as soon as you hit the condition 'resolve' it becomes melee.  You can't remove them because that condition is not hit when they are just sitting there.  That is the closest thing we have to a ruling right now and how it is being ruled in tournaments. 

Exactly. I'm not sure what is confusing anyone here. The card specifically says "resolve" before it says "showing", so once you execute "resolve" Luke's die per his ability is showing Melee. This is also why (as I noted) he cannot play Synchronicity and is also why he cannot employ cards like Guard, why cards that mitigate Melee dice do not work on him and even why his dice can be used with a Melee "plus" die side. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This was a very long debate on facebook and a long one in discord. As stated by many TO's and Judges it works due to the word "resolve". The removal cards and other cards say the word "SHOWING".

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, bravo29 said:

This was a very long debate on facebook and a long one in discord. As stated by many TO's and Judges it works due to the word "resolve". The removal cards and other cards say the word "SHOWING".

 

 

Exactly. And this is what I stated upthread.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 hours ago, bravo29 said:

This was a very long debate on facebook and a long one in discord. As stated by many TO's and Judges it works due to the word "resolve". The removal cards and other cards say the word "SHOWING".

 

 

Ataru Strike also says showing...

Anyway, regardless of what they rule, there's a way that this should work and there's a way that it shouldn't. Unfortunately, it seems like it's going towards the way it shouldn't. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You know what else says showing......

Resolving Dice, need to all show the same symbol (You would Resolve Luke's die as melee when resolving shields instead of when resolving melee, does anyone play it like that?)

Resolving dice with a modifier side needs to show the same symbol. (Luke's die would never be able to be resolved with a +melee side weapon)

But since, every one agrees those are possible and Ataru Strike follows the same pattern, it works. Otherwise be prepared to tell the Luke player he cannot do the above since if it doesn't work for Ataru, it doesn't work for them either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think this is funny it is still being debated. Old Man Luke's ability is clear and to be honest so is the wording on Ataru Strike. 

Per Old Man Luke's ability his character dice that show shields when Resolved can be treated as Melee. Ataru Strike specifies you are Resolving the die, so per his ability it can be said to be either Shields or Melee. You say it is Melee and voila - Ataru Strike works. Also, this is why Old Man Luke's dice can use dice with +Melee sides, and why Old Man Luke cannot play Synchronicity. It is all 100% consistent. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...