Sign in to follow this  
icabod

Study the encounter deck, or play blind?

Hi. I'm curious how people attack a new quest.

Do you study the encounter deck and build a player deck around what you think will work?

Or do you play the first n times blind, with your last/random deck?

Different people do different things.  I study the encounter deck, but I don't build a new player deck to specifically attack it -- I just decide what cards from my sideboard to swap in.  A lot of people like to play blind, though.

Well you can only play blind once. So I I do that. Haha

It makes the story aspect more fun for me and it feels exciting to see what will happen when enemies come out and to see how the encounter deck works. After a few plays the enjoyment shifts to teching and really trying for the wins more.

For me that's how I get to the best of both worlds. 

I also am the kind of guy who doesn't watch the trailer for a movie before I see it

If its my first time playing it, I play it totally blind. Usually that ends up in a big "oh crap, didn't see that coming" moment.

I also try to run the same deck through an entire cycle so I will try several times before making deck changes.

Same, I get a deluxe, make my deck, (or 2) and try to play it through the whole cycle, tweaking it as I go if needed.  So I also play each quest blind.  I also don’t expect to win first play either.  

I played blind until Journey to Rhosgobel. :rolleyes: Now I just build a new deck after looking through the encounter cards with some of the cards in the pack.

3 hours ago, player1683311 said:

I also am the kind of guy who doesn't watch the trailer for a movie before I see it

That's the only way I hear about movies! ^_^

3 hours ago, mewmartigan said:

If its my first time playing it, I play it totally blind. Usually that ends up in a big "oh crap, didn't see that coming" moment.

I also try to run the same deck through an entire cycle so I will try several times before making deck changes.