Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
toffolone

Suppressive or I may have used this wrongly....

Recommended Posts

Greetings, I have a very dumb querstion, but apparently I may have misread the "suppressive" rule.

if my attack pool has a weapon with suppressive - let's say I'm only shooting with the AT ST mortar.

I roll three White dice and there are no hit nor crit.- now how does it work?

I understood that no matter the lack of hits, the target is still getting a suppression token, because it has been defending (= declared as defender) against an attack with suppressive. In Other words it is 1 suppression non matter what plus another possible suppression if there is at least a hit in the roll

Or does you need to actually put atleast an hit and in that case you put two suppression token on defender? In other words is it 2 suppression (when there is at least an hit) or nothing (when there are no hits) ? 

 

thanks

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Suppressive says after you perform an attack, the target gains a suppression token. So you do that. It does not say it gains a token if it already gained one during the attack, nor does it say it gains a suppression token if you rolled a hit or critical result.

So a weapon with suppressive will give 1-2 suppression tokens, depending on the result of the roll.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What is written under suppressive is different than the card, in the book it says :

After defending against an attack that includes a weapon with the suppressive keyword, the defender gains one suppression token.

if you don’t roll any hits or crits are you really having to defend ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the Attack article, on page 14, step 1 is to Declare Defender. It has nothing to do with rolling dice, if they were targeted for an attack they defended against it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, Steelgolem said:

What is written under suppressive is different than the card, in the book it says :

After defending against an attack that includes a weapon with the suppressive keyword, the defender gains one suppression token.

if you don’t roll any hits or crits are you really having to defend ?

If there are no hits or crits, the defender doesn't have to roll any defense dice, but even so they receive 1 suppression token because of Suppressive. If there were a hit/crit in the attack pool, then the defender would receive 2 suppress tokens. So, when you make an attack with the Suppressive keyword, the defender will receive a minimum of 1 suppression token and a maximum of 2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

After defending against an attack that includes a weapon with the suppressive keyword, the defender gains one suppression token.

 

again if your opponent doesn’t actually get a hit or a crit then doesn’t  it mean his attack failed and therefore you  do not have to defend anything so you would not get a token I’m mean I thought you defend when you roll defence dice ? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Steelgolem said:

After defending against an attack that includes a weapon with the suppressive keyword, the defender gains one suppression token.

 

again if your opponent doesn’t actually get a hit or a crit then doesn’t  it mean his attack failed and therefore you  do not have to defend anything so you would not get a token I’m mean I thought you defend when you roll defence dice ? 

OK, I understand from where your confusion is comming now.

The unit targeted by the attack is considered the defender weather the attack provided hits or not. Thus that unit is defending during that process regardless if it has to roll defense dice or not.

"1. Declare Defender: The attacking player chooses one enemy unit to attack; this enemy unit is now the defender."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×