Supertoe

this is a cheater's dream

I see FFG has plunged into the real of gimmicks, just like every other freaking game company.

I have plenty of concerns here about this whole thing, but the biggest one is cheating. We've seen FFG games are not immune to cheating in the past. This is gonna be farrrrrrrr worse. People are just gonna scan their cards, print new ones with the appropriate card back and serial number, and insert them into their decks, so that they can get around the unique thing. There will be deckbuilding, just it will be illegal. I have very little graphic design knowledge, and yet I'm pretty sure that I could whip up a bootleg deck in like fifteen minutes. This game really is gonna have to stay casual, just like Warhammer: Diskwars failed in the competitive scene. And here's the thing: when playing casually with friends, you could always play sealed play. This is nothing special in that instance.

Now, I get what they were going for. I wish I could get away with using certain lame cards in my Netrunner collection. But this is not a good solution.

Really, really disappointed though about FFG launching into the realm of gimmicks. It seems like every game has to have a gimmick to get published these days.

Edited by Supertoe

2 minutes ago, Radix2309 said:

Ok that is a lot of work, for what payoff?

This game seems pretty casual

Again though, people have gone to much greater lengths at much greater risks of being caught in order to cheat in an LCG or minis game. In X-Wing, people have changed their dials when their opponents look away. In Conquest, someone sneakily drew extra cards. This is easy, nobody would notice, especially with sleeved cards. 

And that's another thing. Are we forced to use clear sleeves with this game? Because opaque sleeves would hide the unique card back, which I assume is what identifies the deck.

Edited by Supertoe

1 minute ago, Radix2309 said: