spacesound

Are players in your gaming club staying with 1.0?

We have a lot of X-Wing players in my gaming club, and a lot of them will not be advancing to 2.0. Instead, they plan on staying with 1.0. In a way, I don't blame them because they have huge collections.

I'm still new to the game, so I was looking forward to 2.0 since I only have a small collection of models which I got for a lot less than they are worth. For example, I picked up a 1.0 core set in almost new condition for only $6, which is $2 per ship model and everything else is free! What I'm saying is that I'm not heavily invested in the game unlike a lot of other members in my gaming club, so if my gaming club stays with 1.0, I will end up saving a lot of money.

Are other gaming clubs experiencing this phenomenon?

2 minutes ago, spacesound said:

You're not going to be alone in this. Other clubs and groups are staying 1.0, and if the majority of players in that location stay 1.0 it makes sense for everybody who plays regularly there to at least keep their 1.0 from the cleansing fires they deserve.

That said, my own group is going in for 2.0 hard. A lot of excitement, with only one or two showing reservations, and those are the guys with the least invested so far.

I've seen people attempt to stick with older versions of a game when a new one releases. It rarely works out. Either the older system has to be clearly and vastly superior or the local group has to be sufficiently isolated from the wider gaming community to insulate them from the peer pressure of playing the new system. Based on that experience I think most of the people who say they'll be sticking with 1st edition will most likely not be.