Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Lemmiwinks86

Detonating a charge just placed

Recommended Posts

After reading the new article for the Rebel Commandos, I went and re-read the rules for Arm X and Detonate X. In the current rules, if there is a Proton Charge Saboteur on both sides, then I see nothing preventing a player to detonate a charge that was just placed by the opponent. The rules say:

"After a unit controlled by any player performs an action, each unit that has a weapon with the detonate x: charge type keyword may detonate x friendly charge tokens of the specified type. See “Detonate” on page 26."

"If, after a unit performs an action, both players have units with the detonate x: charge type keyword that could detonate charge tokens, the player that does not control the unit that just performed an action may use their unit’s detonate x: charge type keyword first."

The Arm X is an action, so this scenario is possible:
-Blue player Proton Charge Saboteur uses his Arm 1 action to place the charge.
-As a unit from the blue player just performed an action which is the trigger, the red player Proton Charge Saboteur chooses to use the Detonate 1 abbility to detonate 1 charge, and chooses the one the blue player just placed.

Am I missing something or this is a legal move actually?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
32 minutes ago, Shieldwolf72 said:

"After a unit controlled by any player performs an action, each unit that has a weapon with the detonate x: charge type keyword may detonate x friendly charge tokens of the specified type. See “Detonate” on page 26."

Of course, I had the answer under my nose all the time.

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Although...a commando could go on a suicide charge, if you thought the payoff would be good enough. Run into a cluster of enemy troops, drop the charge then immediately detonate it. Lose one unit for potentially many ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On ‎7‎/‎30‎/‎2018 at 5:40 PM, Turan said:

Although...a commando could go on a suicide charge, if you thought the payoff would be good enough. Run into a cluster of enemy troops, drop the charge then immediately detonate it. Lose one unit for potentially many ?

Well, you don't actually have to lose the unit. The unit leader can walk up, leave the Joe in a position where the charge doesn't have LoS to them, place and detonate the charge.

 

Because charges are a ranged attack and the Joe is not in LoS, they can't be a casualty. If the leader does die, they'll just replace the Joe and you'll still have a saboteur.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
35 minutes ago, MasterShake2 said:

Well, you don't actually have to lose the unit. The unit leader can walk up, leave the Joe in a position where the charge doesn't have LoS to them, place and detonate the charge.

 

Because charges are a ranged attack and the Joe is not in LoS, they can't be a casualty. If the leader does die, they'll just replace the Joe and you'll still have a saboteur.

Rebel terrorist tactics know no limit to their callous disregard for life!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
24 minutes ago, Steelgolem said:

Says under arm x when you place the token you need line of sight to where it is been placed .

It needs LOS to the leader, not to every mini. They’re suggesting leaving the non-leader minis out of LOS so they can’t suffer wounds.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...