Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Valiko33

Elf Stone + Woodmen 's Path Order of resolution

Recommended Posts

Hi

I'm trying a scouting Party deck with Haldan, the New Woodman Character. (paired with Lanwyn and Cirdan with Fearless scout)

Until now it's pretty efficient in a two handed solo game with another Dale focused combat deck (Brand son of Bain / Bard son of Brand / Beregond Tactics)

I have a rule question, and i can't find the answer.

When playing on the same location a Elf Stone and the new attachement Woodmen 's Path which passive effect resolves first?

 

ffg_elf-stone-tbr.jpg

 

mec67_card_woodmens-path.png

 

Elf Stone says : +1 quest Point to active location

Woodmen 's Path says : Quests Points are reduced to 1.

So which one activates first when the location becomes active location? Should I choose? That's not so easy, because both are passive effects on player attachement cards.

I 've played as the location gets only 1. (not adding the +1 from the Elf Stone, but I might be wrong)

And no grim rules with this game, it's already hard enough. ^^

Thanks for the help.

 

Edited by Valiko33

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think it matter which order the passive efforts are applied, since Woodman's Path specifies a fixed value.  So if you do the path first

Path -- sets quest value to 1.

Stone -- adds 1, quest value to 2.

Path -- passive kicks in again, sets quest value to 1.

 

If you do Stone first:

Stone -- adds 1, quest value to X+1.

Path -- sets quest value to 1.

Stone's passive effect can only kick in once, or it would infinitely recur itself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is your Dale combat focused deck running Spirit or Tactics Brand?

I’d be interesting in seeing the decklist of your fellowship, pal!

regarding the rules I think @dalestephenson nailed it

Edited by banania

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Evidence for @dalestephenson's interpretation can be found in RR Modifiers:

If a value is “set” to a specific number, the set modifier overrides all non-set modifiers. If multiple set modifiers are in conflict, the most recently resolved set modifier takes precedence.

(Boldface added.) Technically, Woodman's Path "reduces" (not "sets"), but I think the same principle applies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The "set" reasoning sounds right.  But also, the game does give you leeway to order responses and discards. So, maybe its the player's choice to set the ordering of these cards' effects (2 quest points or 1 quest point).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...