Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Flrbb

Timing: When Revealed

Recommended Posts

I am thinking of creating a custom mission, which "plays" with a moody Gandalf. That for I need some clarification. What happens if Gandalf (hero or ally) is in play and an enemy called Gandalf gets reveald? Will the when reveald effect occur before discarding that card (because there is allready an unique card called Gandalf in play)? I hope so, otherwise my mission wont work.

Gandalf-Front-Face.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A unique card can't be played and can't enter play if another one is already in play.

Encounter deck does not play any card (they are revealed or put in play, but no one never play them), so the only problematic part would be the "enter play". Since "when revealed" occur before the card enter play it seem to work as intended.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe that there is a "golden rule" that the card text overrides the rules.  So above the "when revealed" line, include your line to Discard other gandalfs, and then move the "when revealed:" down below that.

Edited by CDavis7M

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/5/2018 at 6:16 PM, Rouxxor said:

Encounter deck does not play any card (they are revealed or put in play, but no one never play them), so the only problematic part would be the "enter play". Since "when revealed" occur before the card enter play it seem to work as intended.

The boldfaced is actually something of an interesting point—while I thought the same way, I believe the CotR guys got a different ruling. (Yes, yes, the RR defines "in play" quite specifically, but nevertheless, looks like Caleb may have changed his mind.) Apparently Caleb is working on a FAQ revision, so hopefully it will be cleared up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

BTW, I think you don't need the When Revealed text… RR Unique Cards:

If a unique version of a character enters play from the encounter deck and there is already a copy of that character under a player’s control, that player must discard the version he or she controls.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...