Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Conquerer42

Resolving Zeb's dice

Recommended Posts

So I had a situation tonight that I could not answer as a judge because I have seen other judges rulings on different, but similar issues.  So here it goes lol

I have a +2 ranged die, 1 melee Zeb die, and a 4 melee vibe cutlass die. I know I could resolve the +2 and the 1 together, or the 2 melee dice together, but because they are SHOWING the same symbol, I should be able to resolve all 3 because the one is only acting as a ranged die. 

Now, if you do say that all 3 can't be resolved together because it is effectively changing its symbol to ranged, then answer me this, if my opponent hits me with a 1 ranged die, because of said ruling, I should be able to use Counter Strike with one of Zeb's dice because it is changing its symbol to ranged, correct? 

Thank you for the clarification in advance :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

this is one of the things ive been waiting on clarification for since i saw Zeb's card.

We've been playing it literally as you describe, he changes it to ranged on the fly. The only other way it could work would require more words so it works in some situations but not others.

But far as i know, nothing has been stated about Zeb's ability officially.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would argue that you are incorrect on both accounts.  You cannot resolve all 3 dice with Zeb's action because he is either resolving melee (2 dice, 1 base/4 base) or ranged (2 dice, 1 base/+2 modifier).  

In addition, the card in question says "showing damage" that is the same as just was resolved by the enemy, and because Zeb's die is not showing ranged damage, that does not apply for him.

If it says you could "resolve damage" that was the same type of damage that you just took, then it would be fine.

Edited by Traxlenak

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It may be a gross simplification but I think it works where you declare what dice symbol you're resolving and then resolve dies of those type until you can't or decline to resolve more of that type. In this instance you either resolve ranged or melee, but the ability lets you resolve it as ranged also. So if you resolve it as melee you get to just use the zeb and vibro die. If you are resolving it as Ranged, you get to use the modified range side also.

In my experience this is the kind of thing that I would assume works less optimally than is best for you. But hey, with Luke and other effects that I'm sure will be like this in the future this might be something of a question to as about officially.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You have to resolve either range damage or melee damage during a single action, you can't do both, therefore you cannot resolve all three dice during the same action. So you either do 3 ranged or 5 melee. Or you can resolve it over two actions doing 4 melee then 3 ranged.

And yes you would be able to use Zeb's die showing 1 melee to "Counter Strike" ranged damage for 3 damage. However using your above example, using Counter Strike would cause you to strand the +2 ranged die as it would not be able to be used with Counter Strike.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...