Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Jorgyn Ryss

look what I found

Recommended Posts

17 minutes ago, gokubb said:

How does DJ work with He Doesn’t Like You? Do you get the indirect damage for only your opponent’s die removed or do you get it for yours and your opponent’s?

DJ specifically says “opponents dice.” So just the opponent’s die you remove does damage. 

 

D47F668A-7C2F-47D7-8DF5-1CE65248F3AC.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Only the trigger specifies “opponent’s” dice.  You did remove any number of an opponent’s dice, so the ability does trigger.  The damage calculation just checks how many dice you removed, not to whom they belonged.  By a strict reading of the ability, I believe you can do two damage with him in this way.

 

That said, I think FFG probably meant for it to check the number of your opponent’s dice removed, so I wouldn’t be surprised to see a clarification.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
30 minutes ago, Imperial Citizen said:

DJ specifically says “opponents dice.” So just the opponent’s die you remove does damage. 

 

D47F668A-7C2F-47D7-8DF5-1CE65248F3AC.png

Removing an opponent’s dice is the trigger. Doing damage is a response. The addition of a new noun (die) without a specific joining to the previous noun (opponent’s dice) leave it open to interpretation. To have it clearly be opponent’s only it could say:

for each of those die you just removed

OR, simply

for each you just removed

Edited by gokubb

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, gokubb said:

Removing an opponent’s dice is the trigger. Doing damage is a response. The addition of a new noun (die) without a specific joining to the previous noun (opponent’s dice) leave it open to interpretation. To have it clearly be opponent’s only it could say:

for each of those die you just removed

OR, simply

for each you just removed

I hadn’t thought about it that way... That would be a great combo with DJ if it works as you say. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I by no means think it should work that way. I also think the design team did not think of it that way when they created the card. I fully expect a clarification here, but as written I think you have to say it is two damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, ozmodon said:

Opponents  then die removed. 1+ 1  still isn't  3 

That’s not how sentence structure works though. Look at this sentence:

After I pass Bob’s car, I will get 10 points for every car I passed.

That sentence leads you to believe you pass more cars where passing Bob’s is the trigger for earning the points. But you get 10 for all of them passed.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, gokubb said:

That’s not how sentence structure works though. Look at this sentence:

After I pass Bob’s car, I will get 10 points for every car I passed.

That sentence leads you to believe you pass more cars where passing Bob’s is the trigger for earning the points. But you get 10 for all of them passed.

 

It doesn't lead me anywhere  but deal indirect damage for opponents dice removed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For the most part we read the cards and the words as they are, not as we would like them to be.

02114.jpg

In this case my opponent chooses and removes my Dice. So I only removed 1 dice, as referenced by the "you" in DJ's effect. My opponent would take just 1 indirect.

01097.jpg

In this case I would have removed 2 dice, thus my opponent takes 2 indirect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, DJ needs an FAQ entry. From the article they pair him with, in the crosshairs, which can remove both yours and your opponent's dice. The card kinda reads like it may just be opponent dice but it can also read opponent dice are the trigger and then whatever dice get removed. I'm in the, He doesn't like you, does two damage camp, but FFG needs to word things better.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you are right on the FAQ, and I don't disagree with you.

Many cards lack the clarity you want though. Electroshock uses similar language, (I am sure it is one of many) but, would we need a clarification if I wanted to remove my own dice? We have since the game began had this, and we have all played that where the card text doesn't specify a player it means either player.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On ‎6‎/‎26‎/‎2018 at 9:30 PM, Amanal said:

 

 

01097.jpg

In this case I would have removed 2 dice, thus my opponent takes 2 indirect.

 

I believe it would only be 1 indirect since you only remove one opponents dice. 

 

if you are saying since you removed your own dice then you would have to take 1 indirect damage to your self  you do not count as an opponent to yourself.  if I am not understanding please explain.

 

D47F668A-7C2F-47D7-8DF5-1CE65248F3AC.png

On ‎6‎/‎26‎/‎2018 at 9:30 PM, Amanal said:

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/7/2018 at 8:07 AM, Psxjedi76 said:

 

I believe it would only be 1 indirect since you only remove one opponents dice. 

 

if you are saying since you removed your own dice then you would have to take 1 indirect damage to your self  you do not count as an opponent to yourself.  if I am not understanding please explain.

 

D47F668A-7C2F-47D7-8DF5-1CE65248F3AC.png

 

DJ triggers when you remove an opponents dice.

His effect is to deal indirect damage equal to the number of dice removed by you. With "He Doesn't Like You" you remove 2 dice.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its preying on really bad wording. Its clearly intended to only be opponents dice, but since its worded backwards compared to other remove effects its technically only asking how many dice were removed period after removing an opponent's die.

I imagine it'll get faq'd pretty quick. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...