Jump to content
LivingOxymoron

Need Rule Clarification for Quests

Recommended Posts

Are triggered objectives required in all cases? Or can a player opt to not have them occur? 

For example, on Card 014 "Welcome to the Commonwealth", Objective 1 is kill any <human>, and Objective 2 is to use a Quest Action in Diamond City. 

 

If I want to do Objective 2, but a raider attacks *me* as I'm trying to get to Diamond City, and I kill them, am I required to do the instructions on Objective 1? Or can I opt not to in the hopes I make it to Diamond City before one of the other players kills a <human> and opts to trigger Objective 2?

 

I ask because it seems like to have them automatically trigger regardless of player choice takes away the ability to preference one faction over the other for each player.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm pretty sure that in the rulebook it says only objectives with a star mark on them are automatically activated upon completion, otherwise, you use your quest turn in action to turn the quest in when appropriate. 

I had this question to through multiple playthroughs. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It takes two different actions to kill an enemy or to complete a quest card. 

To kill an enemy you have to use an attack action. 

To complete a quest option you have to use a quest action. 

Mai I don’t think it’s automatic and the player can choose to trigger the quest or not. 

However I maybe wrong. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To answer the question above yes, you must complete the quest. Here is the RRG "Triggered objectives provide a task that can be performed in the game such as “kill a  enemy” or “explore a  tile.” As soon as a survivor completes the specified task, he or she completes this objective."

Vetnor:

Technically you don't have to use an attack action to kill an enemy as people can be ambushed during an encounter, or simply move into a space with an aggressive enemy.

Also, a quest action is not always required. The example the person above gives above doesn't have a quest symbol. It only says kill a human and blank triggers. I know this because I was helping someone around the rules of that very same card over the weekend. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hopefully the cryptic Fallout tweet from FFG might indicate an expansion for this game and maybe some revised rules etc. Then some of these questions might become easier.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×