drail14me

X-Wing themed gaming table??

**** Edited****  Completed the table. Photos below in this thread.  *****

I’ve got to build a new table for our local game store for use with X-Wing. Our store already has three 4’x8’ tables. We can play two games at once on these. However, the 40k guys also use these and always leave their stuff on them. Plus, these three tables are in a back room of the store.  I’m wanting to build a smaller table, 4x4 or 4x6 to put in the front of the store for better visibility and for Star Wars only (Mostly)  I plan on building it very solid and sturdy but want to decorate it in a Star Wars theme. I’m no artist so I’m looking for ideas. Can anyone share photos of any Star Wars themed store tables?

Edited by drail14me

31 minutes ago, GLEXOR said:

I would do 4x7, so that you can reasonably do two games at the same table, or have room on either side while doing epic.

Thanks. Just edited my OP for more details. Want a smaller table. 

4 hours ago, drail14me said:

Interesting idea!

Consider having players donate or suggest their favorite 1.0 lists / cards / custom alt arts / etc.  Then poly them into the surface.  Issue as a prize or auction off sections of the table and let the regulars provide the content (pending your approval).  Work in some of the promo posters, challenge coins, tokens, whatever.  Homage to the best/worst of 1.0

I say keep it simple.

Look at the aesthetics of the amazing table already shown. Simple star field, simple coloured ends for each team and Star Wars logo.

You want it in the front of the store to attract players. The bold simplicity of it will draw the eye, the Star Wars brand will draw the interest and the game itself will draw in the wallets. 

You also mentioned not being overly artistic. You're more likely to get a better result by keeping the build as simple as possible. Maybe think about buying a colleapsable table from a thrift store and screwing some MDF/plywood on top.