Jump to content
OfficialRules

Star Wars: Legion Official Rulings

Recommended Posts

This thread will be updated periodically with answers to rules questions that the Star Wars™: Legion developers receive via our Rules Submission Form. If you have a question that you believe isn’t answered with our current documents, please check the following list before submitting your question:

  • The question is not answered in the game rules, FAQ, or another existing rules document.
  • The question is not answered in the thread on this page.
  • Your question is not a tournament procedure or event-related question. (Those can be sent to OrganizedPlay@FantasyFlightGames.com.)
  • You wrote a rules question (not a request, statement, etc.).

This thread is an official source for game rulings, in addition to all documents on our website.

Star Wars: Legion Rules Reference

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: When a commander equipped with the upgrade card Battle Mediation is issuing orders, in addition to bypassing the usual restriction of range 1–3, can an order be issued to a unit or unit type that is not listed on the command card that was played?

Answer: Yes. For example, if the command card Son of Skywalker is played and Luke Skywalker is equipped with Battle Meditation, he may chose to issue an order to a friendly AT-RT unit instead of himself. In this case Luke Skywalker still benefits from the ability of Son of Skywalker, since the ability is not contingent on Luke Skywalker being issued an order. An order can never be issued to a unit that already has an order token assigned to it; units may never have more than one order token at a time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: Can the upgrade card Force Push be used to force an enemy trooper unit to perform a climb or clamber move?

Answer: No. Whenever a game effect allows or forces a unit to perform a “speed–x” move, that unit performs a full or partial standard move with a speed equal to or lower than “x.” Climbing and clambering are not standard moves and thus cannot be performed in place of a speed–x move.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: After performing a move, if Darth Vader is equipped with the upgrade Saber Throw, can he use the Relentless ability to perform a ranged attack using the Saber Throw card action? Is using Saber Throw considered an attack action, a card action, or both?

Answer: Yes. Some card actions, such as on Saber Throw or Jump X, are treated as other types of actions. This is indicated in the text of the card action itself. When a unit performs that card action, treat that action as the type of action indicated in its text, as well as a card action, for the purposes of all gameplay effects and abilities.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: If an AT-ST is in a melee with an enemy unit, can that AT-ST use the Arsenal 2 keyword to select a melee weapon to use against the enemy unit it is in a melee with and a ranged weapon to use against a different enemy unit?

Answer: Yes. Because the AT-ST is not a trooper unit, it is not engaged while in a melee and may perform ranged attacks. Additionally, because it has the Arsenal 2 keyword it may chose two different weapons and form two different attack pools. However, it cannot use a ranged weapon against an enemy unit it is in a melee with, nor can it have a melee weapon and a ranged weapon in the same attack pool.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: How much terrain should be on a battlefield when playing Star Wars: Legion?

Answer: While players can use however much or however little terrain they would like when playing Star Wars: Legion, the Rules Reference suggests that players fill at least a quarter of the battlefield with pieces of terrain, as densely packed as possible, and then spread that terrain out over the entire battlefield. It is recommended that players follow this suggestion for the best Star Wars: Legion experience. In addition, including a variety of terrain types adds interesting tactical decisions to a game. A mix of terrain that includes several pieces of height, 1 or 2 line of sight blocking terrain, a few pieces of area terrain that provide light cover, one or two pieces of difficult terrain, and 8 to 12 barricades is a great starting point that players can add to with their own custom made terrain or other favorite terrain types.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: Since a player’s command hand is a part of their army, is the contents of their command hand public information to their opponent before a game? During a game is a player’s command hand public information? Similarly, is a player’s discard pile public information?

Answer: No, although a player’s command hand is a part of their army, neither before a game nor during a game is a player’s command hand public information. The contents of a player’s command hand is considered hidden information, except to that player. However, a player’s discarded command cards are public information. A player can request to see their opponent’s discarded command cards at any time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: When a unit performs a ranged attack, does the unit leader need to have line of sight to the defending unit?

Answer: No. While range is always measured from an attacking unit leader, the unit leader does not need line of sight to a defending mini in order for the unit to perform an attack. However, only minis that have line of sight to a defending mini can contribute a weapon to the attack pool.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: When determining obscured minis during an attack, if the defending unit is on a piece of terrain with a higher elevation than the attacking unit, because of how line of sight works a portion of each defending mini’s base will likely be obscured by the terrain. Can this provide the defending unit with cover?

Answer: Yes. Because line of sight to part of the defending mini’s base is blocked for the attacking unit leader and that terrain falls along an imaginary line between the attacking unit leader and the defending mini, that mini is obscured. If at least half of the unit’s minis are obscured in this way, the defending unit will gain whatever level of cover the terrain provides. Units at a higher elevation will often have an advantage in this way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: If, during a command phase, both players choose and reveal the command card Change of Plans, which player resolves the effect of their command card first?

Answer: In the situation that both players reveal Change of Plans, the blue player must resolve the effect of their command card first, choosing whether to discard their command card and return the other player's card or to leave both in play. Then the red player, if able, resolves their command card. As a general rule, if two players' command cards have simultaneous effects, the blue player resolves the effects of their command card first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: When adding weapons to an attack pool, if an enemy trooper unit has a face-up order token and the command card Reckless Diversion is in play, can a mini, such as a DLT-19 Stormtrooper mini, choose a weapon with a shorter range to avoid having to attack the enemy trooper with a face-up order token?

Answer: No. Because the Declare Defender step of an attack comes before the Form Attack Pool step, if a unit is able to attack an enemy trooper with a face-up order token with any of its weapons, that trooper must be chosen as the defender and those weapons are added to the attack pool. However, if the attacking unit has other available weapons that can be used and have not been added to the attack pool, that unit may declare additional defenders and form separate attack pools.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: If the Whipcord Launcher command card is in play, and Boba Fett is engaged with an enemy unit with one ore more immobilize tokens, can he perform moves even if he is also engaged with another enemy unit that does not have any immobilize tokens?

Answer: Yes. As long as Boba Fett is engaged with one enemy unit that has at least one immobilize token, he can perform moves while engaged if Whipcord Launcher is in play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: When a unit uses the Entourage ability to issue an order, if it is equipped with the Battle Meditation upgrade card, can that order be issued to any friendly unit instead of the unit specified by the Entourage ability?

Answer: No. As explicitly stated in the Rules Reference, when using the Entourage ability, the order must be issued to the specified unit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: When issuing orders after playing the command card An Entire Legion, what is considered an eligible unit? Do either of the upgrade cards Commanding Presence or Battle Meditation change what units are eligible? 

Answer: As stated in the Rules Reference, an eligible unit meets the following criteria:

  1. The unit has the type or name indicated on the command card.
  2. The unit is at range 1-3 of the nominated commander.
  3. The unit does not already have an order token.

If a unit meets these requirements, it will be issued an order after An Entire Legion is played. Additionally, if the nominated commander is equipped with Commanding Presence, the second requirement is changed to range 1-4. If equipped with Battle Meditation, the player may issue one additional order to any friendly unit beyond the given command radius. If they do so, the player does not issue one less order to a unit within the given command radius. As a general rule, for the purposes of resolving game effects, orders are issued one at a time, in the order that the player issuing the orders chooses.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: When a unit performs a ranged attack and the Limited Visibility condition card is in play, to check whether line of sight is blocked due to the effect of the condition card, does a player measure range from the unit leader or from each mini in the unit?

Answer: Because a player is required to check line of sight from each mini in the attacking unit when adding weapons to an attack pool, the player must measure range from each mini in the unit when Limited Visibility is in play to determine whether that mini has line of sight to the defending unit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: When a charge or condition token detonates and there are multiple defending units, who chooses the order of the attacks?

Answer: When a condition token detonates, the player that controls the unit that triggered the detonation effect chooses the order of the attacks. When a charge token detonates, the player that controls the unit that used an ability to detonate the token chooses the order of the attacks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correction: The last bullet point on page 24 of the Rules Reference should read:

"When determining whether a piece of terrain blocks line of sight to a defending mini with a notched base, if there is a clear peg separating the defending mini and its base, the clear peg and the base are not treated as a part of the mini."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: Can I modify my Boba Fett miniature by removing the clear peg, such that he is physically touching his base?

Answer: Yes, as long as the overall height of the miniature is not significantly altered, this falls under "reasonable alterations" in the tournament regulations.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

×