Jump to content

Recommended Posts

This thread will be updated periodically with answers to rules questions that the Star Wars™: Destiny developers receive via our Rules Submission Form. If you have a question that you believe isn’t answered with our current documents, please check the following list before submitting your question:

  • The question is not answered in the game rules, FAQ, or another existing rules document.
  • The question is not answered in the thread on this page.
  • Your question is not a tournament procedure or event-related question. (Those can be sent to OrganizedPlay@FantasyFlightGames.com.)
  • You wrote a rules question (not a request, statement, etc.).

This thread is an official source for game rulings, in addition to all documents on our website.

Star Wars: Destiny Rules Reference

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: Can a power action be used to no effect? If so, does it count as a pass?

Answer: Yes. A power action can be used to no effect. No. This does not count as a pass since using a power action is considered to have changed the game state (that power action can no longer be used for the round). For example, a player can use the power action on Slave I (Spirit of Rebellion, 22) even if they have no Yellow dice in their pool. This does not count as a pass since using the power action is a change in game state.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: I activate a Clone Trooper (Legacies, 38) with a Training (Spirit of Rebellion, 125) on it. Can I reroll both of its dice?

Answer: No. You can only reroll one Clone Trooper die of your choice. “This die” always refers to a single die, not multiple dice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The following bullet point should be added under "Point Value(s)” on page 6 in the Rules Reference:

  • This point value cannot be changed during gameplay. If a character becomes elite, its point value does not change.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The following bullet point should be added under "Character, Plots, & Played Cards” on page 10 in the Rules Reference:

  • If a card leaves play and re-enters play, it is considered a new instance of the card and there is no memory of having used its abilities.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The "Play a Card" entry on page 14 in the Rules Reference should read:
Whenever a player wishes to play a card, that player follows these steps, in order:

  1. Declare intent by showing the card and adding it to the queue.
  2. Check play restrictions. If the play restrictions cannot be met, the action is illegal.
  3. Choose target(s), if applicable. All upgrades require a target. If there are no eligible targets, the action is illegal.
  4. Determine the cost (or costs, if multiple costs are required). If the cost(s) cannot be paid (taking all modifiers into account), the action is illegal.
  5. Apply modifiers to the cost(s). Replacing an upgrade and “before you play” abilities may be triggered at this time.
  6. Pay the cost(s).
  7. If the card is next in line in the queue, resolve its effects. After the card resolves, it is either discarded (events) or put into play (non-events).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The following section should be included on page 14 in the Rules Reference:

Illegal Actions
If a player takes an illegal action or attempts to take an action that cannot be completed, the entire action is reversed. No abilities trigger and no effects resolve as a result of a reversed action. Then that player takes an action or passes. Actions that shuffle a deck, reveal cards from a deck, or move cards to or from a deck cannot be reversed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The "Claim the Battlefield" entry on page 14 in the Rules Reference should read:
When a player claims the battlefield, if they do not control it, they take control of it and move the battlefield card to their in-play area. Then that player may use its “Claim” ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Clandestine Operation Clarification

A player can resolve their dice showing the same symbol, even if those dice were not showing that symbol when this card began to resolve.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

DJ Clarification

This ability deals indirect damage to an opponent equal to the number of that opponent’s dice you just removed. This damage is dealt as one source.
This ability only triggers when you remove one or more dice, not when dice are removed by an opponent or by the game. If a card leaves play, the game removes its matching dice, not a player.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rex's Blaster Pistol Clarification

If this card is on Rex, you can play a second copy of it on another one of your characters. However, if this card is on one of your characters not titled Rex, you cannot play a second copy of if.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Snoke Clarification

A character that is defeated by taking 1 damage from this power action cannot resolve its die since its dice are set aside before this power action resolves.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

×