Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
wehehe

Surge and Reveal from discard pile

Recommended Posts

Hi, I am recently having some doubts about the Surge keyword and cards which ask you to find a card in the deck, or discard pile, and reveal it.

The F.A.Q. reads:

Quote

(1.01) Encounter Keywords
Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be resolved any time the card on which they occur is revealed from the encounter deck, including during setup.

According to this, if a card asks me to search for a card either into the encounter deck, or discard pile, and reveal it... (for example Pressing Needs ), if I choose a card from the discard pile, and I reveal it, I will ignore any Surge, or Doomed keywords on it, as it is being revealed from the discard pile and not the encounter deck?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From Caleb:

Quote

Essentially, the phrases “by the encounter deck” and “from the encounter deck” should be taken to mean any card that originated from the encounter deck or discard pile.

Source: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/122991-thalin-and-revealed-from-discard-pile/?do=findComment&comment=1286920

So yes, a card from the encounter discard pile that gets "revealed" triggers Surge, Doomed, and any other keywords related to being revealed.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello. Response from Caleb:

 

Hi Javier,
The entry in the FAQ was originally meant to address the question of whether or not players should resolve those keywords if the card they appear on was revealed during Setup. The language “from the encounter deck” is extraneous and should not be viewed as a limitation to the keywords. You should resolve encounter keywords any time they appear on a card that is revealed, regardless of where it was revealed from.
Cheers,
Caleb

> On May 30, 2018, at 10:14 AM, no-reply@fantasyflightgames.com wrote:
> 
> Message from:
> Javier Duran
> 
> 
> E-mail:
> dietervanhertz@gmail.com
> 
> 
> Rules Question:
> Hi, I am recently having some doubts about the Surge keyword and cards which ask you to find a card in the deck, or discard pile, and reveal it. The F.A.Q. reads: Quote (1.01) Encounter Keywords Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be resolved any time the card on which they occur is revealed from the encounter deck, including during setup. According to this, if a card asks me to search for a card either into the encounter deck, or discard pile, and reveal it... (for example Pressing Needs ), if I choose a card from the discard pile, and I reveal it, I will ignore any Surge, or Doomed keywords on it, as it is being revealed from the discard pile and not the encounter deck? Thank you. https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/276895-surge-and-reveal-from-discard-pile/
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...