Jump to content
Innoxious

Rule Question about piercing and conditions

Recommended Posts

Hi folks,

if I remember correctly, you can only inflict (most) conditions like poison, stun et.c if you deal at least 1 D after dice are rolled/rerolled. Meaning that in the case you roll 3 D vs 3 S, you could not use 1 Surge to gain 2 D to then use an additional Surge to inflict a condition.

In that case, the same should apply for using surges to add pierce in order to being able to then inflict a condition.

But what about the weapon Poisoned Blowgun? In this case, the weapon has pierce 1 as a passive ability. Will this instance of pierce be calculated during the rolling dice section, allowing you to inflict poison during the surge step if you roll 2 D vs 2 S?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Shameless self plagiarism  from the CRRG:

"Conditions are inflicted through surge abilities, if at least 1 damage is dealt in step 5 (Deal damage) of the attack. Conditions are usually inflicted in this step."

In your example you totally could inflict a condition when you use that surge for additional damage. Pierce in calculated in step 5, before a condition is inflicted. It might therefore be a deciding factor if conditions can be inflicted or not.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
On 5/27/2018 at 2:11 PM, Innoxious said:

if I remember correctly, you can only inflict (most) conditions like poison, stun et.c if you deal at least 1 D after dice are rolled/rerolled. Meaning that in the case you roll 3 D vs 3 S, you could not use 1 Surge to gain 2 D to then use an additional Surge to inflict a condition.

Perhaps it's my bad english but I think there is an error here.. so to be sure we are speacking of the same thing
EX: Melee (to make it easier 🙂 )  attacker rolls 2 [Damages] and 2 [Surges] with Light Hammer (as a reminder [Surge] : +2 [Damage] [Surge] : Stun)
Defender rolls 3 Shields

on step 4 (cf CRRG)  attacker spends 1 [Surge] for +2 [Damage] and another for Stun
on step 5 of the attack  4 [Damage] - 3 [Shield] = 1 [Damage]
        one [Damage] has been done so the Stun can be applied

Same thing applies if we change the [Surge] : +2 [Damage] by a [Surge] : Pierce 2

on step 4 (cf CRRG)  attacker spends 1 [Surge] for Pierce 2 and another for Stun
on step 5 of the attack  2 [Damage] - 1 [Shield] = 1 [Damage]
        one [Damage] has been done so the Stun can be applied

If ever the defender as a shield equipped that gives him a [Shield] to his defense
the step 5 will give a result of 0 [Damage] done and if ever the attacker has spent a [Surge] on the stun .. it will be lost..
.. up to the attacker to see that the Stun won't be applied and perhaps make better use of the [Surge] ...

Edited by Felin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×