TeachMC916

Genesys Ancient Rome Campaign

Hi! I'm looking for some feedback on some of the work I've been doing on a fantasy/Sword and Sorcery type Ancient Roman campaign set during the period of the Punic Wars. It's my first time working with the system and mostly just want to make sure I haven't gotten something out of balance. Mostly, I'm using the BRP Rome and the AD&D2 Glory of Rome books as reference. I have been working on custom skills, magic styles, weapons, and armor. Much of this is just flavorized from the Core book or the Terrinoth book.  I haven't done the Missile weapons yet. Any comments would be awesome. This seems like a great community.

Custom Skills:

Superstitio= Knowledge of the supernatural, the bizarre, demons, astrology

Religio= Knowledge of the Gods, rituals, proper sacrifices, and some superstition as connected to the spirits and demons.

Scientia= any “hard” knowledges acquired through discipline and study not otherwise accounted for in a skill. (Politics, Rhetoric, Law, Strategy, History, Geography, Mathematics)

Humanitas= knowledge related to experience or culture. (Languages, culture, Etiquette, Performance)

Taking either Scientia or Humanitas gives Literacy as a bonus

Magic Styles

Theurgia

Theologia

Goetia

Necromantia

Attack

Yes

No

No

Yes

Augment

Yes

Yes

No

Yes

Barrier

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Conjure

No

No

Yes

Yes

Curse

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Dispel

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Heal

No

Yes

No

No

Utility

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

1.       Theurgia= High Magics practiced by Scholar-Magi. The ultimate goal of the Theurge is to become God-Like through knowledge.

2.       Goetia= Low magics… Witchcraft and Hedge-Magic which is most easily accessible. Involves compelling or manipulating spirits/demons.

3.       Necromantia: Death Magic associated with evil entities. Aggressive and destructive.

4.       Theologia= Supplication to the Gods. Prayer and sacrifice to ask for the intervention of the deities.