Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
talismanquestions

Overlapping cards on tiles with abilities

Recommended Posts

Q: Suppose there is an place/enemy/stranger on a regular tile like the graveyard or Crags where you have the option to encounter an the intrinsic ability of the space. Do you encounter the place/enemy/stranger or the tile ability? Or can you choose? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The "mighty" Talisman Encounter Sequence says: If you choose to encounter the space (or you have to, because there is no other character there),
you first have to encounter any cards on said space, then you deal with the space instructions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
19 minutes ago, Lorinor said:

The "mighty" Talisman Encounter Sequence says: If you choose to encounter the space (or you have to, because there is no other character there),
you first have to encounter any cards on said space, then you deal with the space instructions.

Okay, so if there is a or place/stranger on a space that you don't want to "visit," you have to visit it anyway? Places/strangers are an intrinsic part of encountering the space? But let's say you have 0 gold and there's a market. Well, you can't buy anything, so you're just stuck there for all eternity since there is no 0 gold option which doesn't seem like a result the writers intended. 

Edited by talismanquestions

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It doesn't matter what the card offers you, if you can't do something like buy stuff
at the market, you just don't do it and move on to the next card or the space itself
if there aren't any cards left to encounter.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
23 minutes ago, Lorinor said:

It doesn't matter what the card offers you, if you can't do something like buy stuff
at the market, you just don't do it and move on to the next card or the space itself
if there aren't any cards left to encounter.

Okay, well I hope that's true.  If there is a enemy/place/stranger on a space that you don't want to "visit," you have to visit it anyway? Places/strangers are an intrinsic part of encountering the space?

Edited by talismanquestions

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, Lorinor said:

Page 9, Base rules: "Adventure Cards must be dealt with in the order determined
by their encounter number
."
 

What is the encounter number of a space through? Because if it had a 100, you'd know that 

A: you always encounter it eventually regardless of whatever is on the space unless you lose a fight or choose to encounter a character, and

B: that you encounter it last. 

But without an intrinsic number for spaces, I don't know. 

Edited by talismanquestions

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A space does indeed have no encounter number to speak of.

As per the Encounter Sequence, you always encounter any
cards on the space first. Afterwards, if nothing forces/-d you
to end your turn, you - always - have to encounter the space
itself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
44 minutes ago, Lorinor said:

A space does indeed have no encounter number to speak of.

As per the Encounter Sequence, you always encounter any
cards on the space first. Afterwards, if nothing forces/-d you
to end your turn, you - always - have to encounter the space
itself.

There's a rule that says you draw cards to make up for the difference between the cards that already exist on a space and the cards the space tells you to draw. Do you encounter cards already on the space first, THEN draw?

Or do you draw to make up the difference, THEN encounter the space? Because if so, let's say you land on a draw-two-cards space that already has a creature on it. If you kill the enemy, THEN encounter the space, do you then draw two cards? 

So just to make sure, if there is a place or event card you "visit" that isn't an intrinsic part of the space, you always encounter those first and then you get to encounter the space itself, not one or the other? So the only time you don't encounter something on the space is when you choose to encounter a character? 

Edited by talismanquestions

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Alright, sorry for the mess, let's clear this up.

I was talking about a non-draw space just now.

If you land on a "draw cards" space, you have to
check if you need to draw more cards ( to make
up the difference), before you encounter any
cards on that space.


Basically, you can't just do nothing on a non-draw
space if there is no other character there.

Let's assume you land on the City space with no
other characters there.

If you don't have any objects to give to the
Alchemist and/or you can't heal any lives at
the Doctor, you have to visit the Enchantress.

Though for example, if you are neutral and land
on the Chapel and you can't heal any lives and/or
have no gold to pay, you'll end up doing nothing
because you don't have any other option.

Edited by Lorinor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Actually there's one more point. So *before* you encounter a space that already has cards on it...you draw cards equal to the difference between what's already there and what it asks you to draw...but how can you draw any cards at all if you haven't encountered the space yet because you're busy dealing with the cards that are already there? Do you draw cards, then pretend they don't exist, deal with the pre-existing cards on the space, THEN finally reveal the drawn cards and deal with those? Or do you draw cards first and then add them to the mix of all cards on the space, then deal with all cards both drawn and pre-existing by their encounter number?  

Edited by talismanquestions

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let's take the Ruins as an example, then.

The space says: "Draw 2 cards. If there are any cards already
in this space, draw only enough to bring the total to two."

Now we'll assume that there is 1 card already on the space,
let's says it is the http://www.talismanwiki.com/Sorcerer_(Adventure)

You end your move on this space, since there is 1 card there already,
you have to draw 1. You draw the Shrine (place, ECN 6), which is added
to the space.

You now encounter the cards on the space according to their
encounter number, meaning the Sorcerer first, then the Shrine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Lorinor said:

Let's take the Ruins as an example, then.

The space says: "Draw 2 cards. If there are any cards already
in this space, draw only enough to bring the total to two."

Now we'll assume that there is 1 card already on the space,
let's says it is the http://www.talismanwiki.com/Sorcerer_(Adventure)

You end your move on this space, since there is 1 card there already,
you have to draw 1. You draw the Shrine (place, ECN 6), which is added
to the space.

You now encounter the cards on the space according to their
encounter number, meaning the Sorcerer first, then the Shrine.

So drawing isn't part of encountering a space, even though literally anything else written on a space is. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Lorinor said:

No. Drawing is part of it, because it's part of the space instructions, as you just said yourself.

If drawing is part of encountering the space, then you can't draw until *after* you encounter anything already on the space, which means if there's one enemy on a 2-draw space and you kill it, you would draw another two cards, which would contradict the draw difference rule.

Edited by talismanquestions

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×