Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
talismanquestions

Players picking up objects

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

Q: Suppose there are two players on the same space, and then, and one of them drops an object or objects. Can the other player on the same space immediately pick it/them up at the start of their turn before moving, or must they move away and them move back to the same space?

Edited by talismanquestions

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A turn is Talisman consists of these phases:

1. Movement – The player rolls a die and moves his character
that number of spaces around the board.

2. Encounters – Once a character has finished his move, he
must encounter either the space or a character in the space
where he lands.


Since you have to move before you have your encounter,
you can't encounter the space you start your turn on.

Also:

"Characters can only have encounters in the space where they
land. They may never encounter anything in the space where
they start their move."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, Lorinor said:

A turn is Talisman consists of these phases:

1. Movement – The player rolls a die and moves his character
that number of spaces around the board.

2. Encounters – Once a character has finished his move, he
must encounter either the space or a character in the space
where he lands.


Since you have to move before you have your encounter,
you can't encounter the space you start your turn on.

Also:

"Characters can only have encounters in the space where they
land. They may never encounter anything in the space where
they start their move."

But then, wouldn't that contradict the FAQ for Pool of Life that you referenced in a different topic where a player can access the pool on the same turn they draw it? Because according to what you just mentioned, you should have to move away and then encounter the pool again in order to get a life. 

Edited by talismanquestions

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How so?

If I move to a "draw 1 card" space and draw the Pool of Life, I get a counter from it because
it's my encounter for that turn.

At the start of my next turn, I obviously can't stay even though I'd want to, so in order to get
the next counter, I have to move away this turn and try to land on said space again during
another turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
41 minutes ago, Lorinor said:

How so?

If I move to 

Nope, not move to, if it appears on the space you were already on. Suppose you end your movement on a space, THEN draw into a pool. You've already used up your encounter, so...how do you get to visit according to what you referenced? Yet multiple people say you get to visit it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

I'm not sure if you aren't confusing two things here.

Let's say I'm playing as the Thief and it's not my turn. The Wizard moves
onto my space (it's an empty "draw 1 card" space) and draws the pool.

He gets a counter and ends his turn. On my turn, I can't encounter
the space I started my turn on, so I can't get anything from the pool.

---

Also, if I have moved and drawn a card, that doesn't end my encounter,
otherwise enemies could not attack and you couldn't pick up objects
that you've just found (for example).

Edited by Lorinor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, Lorinor said:

I'm not sure if you aren't confusing two things here.

Let's say I'm playing as the Thief and it's not my turn. The Wizard moves
onto my space (it's an empty "draw 1 card" space) and draws the pool.

He gets a counter and ends his turn. On my turn, I can't encounter
the space I started my turn on, so I can't get anything from the pool.

---

Also, if I have moved and drawn a card, that doesn't end my encounter,
otherwise enemies could not attack and you couldn't pick up objects
that you've just found (for example).

But you only place that card on the space *after* you've already encountered the space and drawn the card. There's a rule that says you have to fight monsters, but is there a rule that says you must encounter any place or stranger you draw into? So if you draw something else like a Witch, you must encounter it on the same turn that you place it on your ending space?

The pool specifically says when you visit it, but you already used up your ability to visit it by encountering the space to draw the card in the first place, because according to what you referenced in another topic, you encounter the space last, so by that rule you must have already used up the ability to "visit" cards on the space if you've reached the point where you are encountering the space. 

Edited by talismanquestions

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

The game uses the term "visit" to describe many of your encounters, but you can't "use up"
your visits as there is no restriction to how many cards you can visit on your space in one
turn. Otherwise you couldn't encounter multiple cards on the same space, which you have
to, according to the rules.


Basically, any cards you draw must be encountered on that same turn unless they
specifically tell you otherwise (there are a few though not many).

Edited by Lorinor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/23/2018 at 5:37 AM, Lorinor said:

The game uses the term "visit" to describe many of your encounters, but you can't "use up"
your visits as there is no restriction to how many cards you can visit on your space in one
turn. Otherwise you couldn't encounter multiple cards on the same space, which you have
to, according to the rules.


Basically, any cards you draw must be encountered on that same turn unless they
specifically tell you otherwise (there are a few though not many).

You don't draw until you encounter a space though, so how can you scan a space to know how many cards to draw before you visit? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You read the space before you move there.

Unless you draw a card that forces you to draw more cards, as long as
it's a "draw cards" space, it's right there on the board how many
cards you have to draw on each one and even if there are already any
cards there, you can look at what's on the board.

Otherwise the game would be pretty unfair and a lot of character
abilities that care about certain cards on spaces would be useless.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×