Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Ravenhull

Are Energy Tokens locked to that card?

Recommended Posts

I would hope so.  Yeah, Force tokens on a single ship can be pooled, but it seems that doing so with Energy tokens would break things.  That would mean that somebody might take Cluster Missiles just for the 4 energy.

Comes across to me as a ‘common sense’ thing to restrict them to their host card, but we have seen how common that is among some players.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes. They are not "energy" tokens they are called  "charge" and represent the number of usage of a certain ability, weapon etc. 

Edited by Ubul

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The thing I wanna know is why Dace Bonearm has three charges, then must spend three charges to trigger his effect whatsoever.

Unless they're rechargable somehow, what's the point of making it a multi-charge mechanic at all at that point?

Edited by Reiver

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Reiver said:

The thing I wanna know is why Dace Bonearm has three charges, then must spend three charges to trigger his effect whatsoever.

Unless they're rechargable somehow, what's the point of making it a multi-charge mechanic at all at that point?

The upward triangle by the charges on Dace's pilot card would seem to indicate that he regains one per turn. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, Dunderwood said:

The upward triangle by the charges on Dace's pilot card would seem to indicate that he regains one per turn. 

... You know, I'd missed that. Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If they werent bound to the card there could be some pretty busted shenanigans with that.

Clusters has 4 tokens, the highest of any single card i believe. You could take that to beef the crap out of what is normally 1 charge if it was one big pool.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, Dunderwood said:

The upward triangle by the charges on Dace's pilot card would seem to indicate that he regains one per turn. 

Spend X, receive one back a turn allows you to turn charge tokens into a 'cooldown timer' on an ability.

Any icon - Charge, Force, whatever, with a little triangle means it regenerates once per turn. We've not seen shields with that notation yet but it's not an unreasonable thing to see for a putative epic 2.0 ship, for example.

12 hours ago, SabineKey said:

Another point against charges being a communal pool is the pilot ability of the new Fang pilot, Joy Rekkoff, who spends torpedo charges to reduce enemy agi. With it specifying a Torp upgrade and not just a charge, it makes sense that charges are card bound.

Exactly. Being able to spend charge tokens for a use other than their default is the sort of thing that specific pilot and crew upgrades can be expected to do. Which is why it's not a default ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...