Jump to content
daverayjord

Deck building rules

Recommended Posts

Hi all, some very basic questions about deck building. Is it ok to use any player cards from any expansion pack for any quest? Is it ok to use player cards from saga expansions and delux expansions in the same deck? Are there any restrictions or recommendations? Thanks. Dave. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is OK to use any neutral/leadership/lore/spirit/tactics cards from any expansion against any quest, unless it's explicitly disallowed by the rules.  (For example, you can't use Faramir for a couple of quests because he's already in them).  The sagas also have some player cards that are confined to that particular saga in the "Baggins" or "Fellowship" spheres.

You may not have more than three copies of a card with the same name in a single deck.  To be "tournament legal" you must have at least 50 cards in your deck -- there's no tournaments, but treat this as a firm rule once you get a decent amount of cards (at least core + one cycle).

Cards with a unique symbol may only have one copy in play -- you may have three copies in your deck, but unless the card is critical you may not want to, since only one will ordinarily be played.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, dalestephenson said:

It is OK to use any neutral/leadership/lore/spirit/tactics cards from any expansion against any quest, unless it's explicitly disallowed by the rules.  (For example, you can't use Faramir for a couple of quests because he's already in them).  The sagas also have some player cards that are confined to that particular saga in the "Baggins" or "Fellowship" spheres.

You may not have more than three copies of a card with the same name in a single deck.  To be "tournament legal" you must have at least 50 cards in your deck -- there's no tournaments, but treat this as a firm rule once you get a decent amount of cards (at least core + one cycle).

Cards with a unique symbol may only have one copy in play -- you may have three copies in your deck, but unless the card is critical you may not want to, since only one will ordinarily be played.

Thank you Dale. Much appreciated. Dave. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What about if there are 2 or more players involved?

Same card with a unique symbol may be used in all players decks ? (one unique card in each deck?) 

And the rule not have more than three copies of a card with the same name it applies for only one deck? Or the other players may have the same card (maximum 3 copies) in their decks?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Each player can have 3 copies of the same card in their decks. You can have 3 Northern Trackers in your deck and so can your partner. All 6 could be out on the table at the same time if they all get drawn and played. Unique cards are restricted to having 1 in play at any time. You can still have 3 Faramirs in your deck, you simply cannot have them all out at the same time. If one dies, then you could play your second one. If one player has a unique card in play, no other player can play it. So each player could have 3 Faramirs in their deck, but only one of these could be out at any time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, NathanH said:

Each player can have 3 copies of the same card in their decks. You can have 3 Northern Trackers in your deck and so can your partner. All 6 could be out on the table at the same time if they all get drawn and played. Unique cards are restricted to having 1 in play at any time. You can still have 3 Faramirs in your deck, you simply cannot have them all out at the same time. If one dies, then you could play your second one. If one player has a unique card in play, no other player can play it. So each player could have 3 Faramirs in their deck, but only one of these could be out at any time.

Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...