Sign in to follow this  
retoxidi

Totally new player here, what to get? :O

Hello!

I've been semi-interested in X-Wing from time to time, but haven't gotten into that boat for some reason. But now that the 2nd edition is coming, my spider senses started to tingle once again!

But with all the conversion kits and stuff I'm a bit lost because I have zero collection and zero knowledge about anything. There is a deal I could get in my country now for two 1st edition starter sets for 50 euros. That is a fair price imo, but would that purchase still be reasonable? Like I'd get two sets of dice and the six ships included. But yet again I would still have to buy the conversion kits after their release?

Argh! Or is it just best to wait for the launch and start investing from ground zero in individual ships and stuff? I mean the new x-wings have adjusting wings for god's sake! 

Adjustable wings!

If you are starting fresh I would say just wait until 2.0 comes out and start with a  core set and go from there.  FFG is trying to make it so you can stick to one faction as well so you won't have to buy ships you may never fly just for a single upgrade card.

By waiting you won't have to mess with the conversion kits.

Preorder a starter, first move. 1st edition starters are not going to be worth much past padding components like dice and rocks. Nothing else in there will do you any good outside a conversion kit or physical adaption. You can buy ships but be aware you will have to pay again to convert them.

Edited by LordFajubi

This is a tough question...

If you want to go all out on first edition ships and then get the conversion kits then sure...

However if you only want to get 1 or 2 first edition things then i would say hold off until 2.0.... you can always start with the Saws renegades pack (2x) of those should get you some kind of list to play that's 2.0 compatible as well and see if you can borrow all the supplies until 2.0 comes out.