Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Chunga

Soul Shatter and Fiery Retribution

Recommended Posts

In a recent game we had this situation.

Wizard with 2 lives lands on another player, also with 2 lives. The Wizard declares psychic combat and casts Soul Shatter to do 2 lives of damage.

The other character has Fiery Retribution and casts it to do 2 lives of damage back.

The Wizard players firmly believes that Soul Shatter is outside of combat and therefore the other player was not 'defeated' and cannot cast Fiery Retribution. The second player believes that an attack must be declared and Soul Shatter is cast as part of the Cast Spells step and even though it ends there, it was still an attack and they can cast Fiery Retribution.

Who's correct?

Thank you in advance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soul Shatter can only be cast as part of Psychic Combat.  It cannot be cast otherwise.  Even though it is cast before the combat roll, it is still part of the overall combat.  Therefore Fiery Retribution may be cast.  Both characters were killed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why? - Of course you have to start the psychic combat in order to cast "Soul Shatter", but the condition of "Fiery Retribution" is that the character in question was defeated in the battle / psychic combat and not killed by other effects during said ordeal.

Edited by Lorinor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And that's the big question. When does combat start? 

It seems that when you land on a space with another character, you have a choice of interact with the space or the character? If you choose the character, then you're in combat. Is being killed considered 'defeated'? I seem to think so.

The digital version starts combat immediately and then all spells are cast during the combat. 

Is that correct though?

Edited by Chunga

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Again, I don't think that's the point / the thing that's unclear here - In any case,
we are in psychic combat when the Wizard casts "Soul Shatter", otherwise, he
couldn't use it in the first place.
 

However, the base rule book says a battle / psychic combat has the following steps:
"1" Evade ; "2" Cast Spells ; "3" Determine Attack Rolls ; "4" Compare Attack Scores and "5" Claim Reward.

It also says that winner and loser are determined at the end of step "4".


In the scenario you described, the Wizard casts his spell in step "2", after which the other character
immediately dies. Which is why I'd say that "Fiery Retribution" is of no use here, as the character
in question has not yet been defeated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Lorinor said:

Again, I don't think that's the point / the thing that's unclear here - In any case,
we are in psychic combat when the Wizard casts "Soul Shatter", otherwise, he
couldn't use it in the first place.
 

However, the base rule book says a battle / psychic combat has the following steps:
"1" Evade ; "2" Cast Spells ; "3" Determine Attack Rolls ; "4" Compare Attack Scores and "5" Claim Reward.

It also says that winner and loser are determined at the end of step "4".


In the scenario you described, the Wizard casts his spell in step "2", after which the other character
immediately dies. Which is why I'd say that "Fiery Retribution" is of no use here, as the character
in question has not yet been defeated.

To be honest, I had this exact same thought after I posted my previous response.  But I was too lazy to go back and change it.

This is the correct answer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...