Jump to content
MrCauliflower

Heroic Ability upgrade points with starting experience?

Recommended Posts

When you create a new character, do you get ability points to upgrade you heroic ability based on the amount of starting experience your specific race gets? 

If I start as a Half-Catfolk and I get 100 starting experience. Does that mean I also get 2 ability points to use at character creation?

 

If a GM told the group that along with those 100 starting experience, they were giving another 50 experience points to build the characters with, then I would assume that I would be able to use an ability point to upgrade my heroic ability.

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I gave my players an additional 50xp of "earned" XP they could spend, as if they had 2-3 sessions' worth of XP for their characters (these are veteran players and long-time friends, and we all hate starting at "level one"). Because of that, with the addition of Heroic Abilities, I'm allowing them to count that 50xp towards their first upgrade. But that's an exception for you (or your GM) to make, like RB said, it's not a core rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, MrCauliflower said:

When you create a new character, do you get ability points to upgrade you heroic ability based on the amount of starting experience your specific race gets? 

If I start as a Half-Catfolk and I get 100 starting experience. Does that mean I also get 2 ability points to use at character creation?

 

If a GM told the group that along with those 100 starting experience, they were giving another 50 experience points to build the characters with, then I would assume that I would be able to use an ability point to upgrade my heroic ability.

Thanks!

 

 

The exp exp you get from your archetype/species does not count, but the 50 extra starting exp does. Read the “advancing heroic abilities” section - I think that’s where it explains it

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, saethone said:

 

 

The exp exp you get from your archetype/species does not count, but the 50 extra starting exp does. Read the “advancing heroic abilities” section - I think that’s where it explains it

This is how I would interpret it too. Archetype/Species xp doesn’t count, everything else does.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/26/2018 at 5:53 PM, Richardbuxton said:

No you don’t, check out the second paragraph on page 79. You only advance the heroic abilities based on earned xp

Understood, thanks for your help Richard :)

 

Shawn Yadav
Showbox Mobdro Tutuapp

Edited by shawnyadav

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...