Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Guardian0988

Arianne Martell (Core) & Ramsay Snow

Recommended Posts

There seems to be a lot of confusion online, what is the definite ruling on When you use Arianne Martell to put into play Ramsay Snow?  Does Ramsay's Forced Reaction go off before Arianne returns to hand?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, qwertyuiop said:

The forced reaction on Ramsay must be resolved before the "then" portion of Arianne's ability.   This is all in the rules reference.

The Rules Reference say no such thing. And, although we don't have official word on it, I believe all reactions are resolved after the "then" effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 hours ago, Khudzlin said:

The Rules Reference say no such thing. And, although we don't have official word on it, I believe all reactions are resolved after the "then" effect.

Nested ability sequences. Forced Reactions. Unless I'm completely misreading.

See also the WotN Jon Snow/Core Robb interaction.   You use Jon's ability to sacrifice a Stark character.  If you are going to trigger Robb's reaction to stand all your characters, this is when it happens.  This interrupts the rest of the resolution of Jon's ability causing either to fizzle or to stand a unique Stark character controlled by the opponent.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sacrificing a Stark character is the cost of WotN Jon Snow's ability. That's a different step in the Initiating an ability/Marshaling a card sequence. Pre-then  and post-then effects are both resolved in the same step of that sequence.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Khudzlin said:

Sacrificing a Stark character is the cost of WotN Jon Snow's ability. That's a different step in the Initiating an ability/Marshaling a card sequence. Pre-then  and post-then effects are both resolved in the same step of that sequence.

https://thronesdb.com/rulesreference#Nested_Ability_Sequences

https://thronesdb.com/rulesreference#The_word_Then

https://thronesdb.com/rulesreference#Triggering_Condition

Seriously, let me know what I'm missing here. I don't see anything to support the forced reaction resolving after the 'then' effect.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's what's making me think that when Ramsay enters, you can sac Arianne.  If you use Arianne to bring in Areo Hotah (Core) his ability goes off before Arianne is sent back to hand, so wouldn't the same apply to Ramsay?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×