Jump to content
Rocmistro

Character Creation: Basic Q's

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

Hello!

Going to be trying this system with my friends.

Have some basic questions about character generation.

1. If i put "3" character creation points into "Talents" I get 3 talents of my choice.  Do those talents HAVE to be purchased from the talent option categories on the right hand side of the Career sheet? Ex: If I take the Barber-Surgeon Career, I get a "Reputation" and a "Focus" talent slot.  So, the 3 Talents I pick have to be some combination of those 2 types of talents?

 - Can I take a different type of Talent that is normally not compatible with my career, with the intent to "slot" it into the Party character sheet? Ex: I take the Barber-Surgeon career, and we select the "Servants of Justice" Party. I select a Reputation talent (Silver Tongue), a Focus talent (Clear Minded), and a Tactic talent (coordinated efforts)?  Is that all legal/correct?

2. Similar to Talents, if I put 3 character creation points into "Action" (Assuming, again, a Barber-Surgeon with all stats of "3"), i get 3 4 actions (in addition to the 8 "basic" actions).   So, if all of my stats start at 3, I get: Assess the Situation, Block, Dodge, Guarded Position, Melee Attack, Parry, Perform a Stunt, and Ranged Attack, and then I also get 3 more, so I could, for example, choose: Twin Pistols, Shield Slam, Improved Guarded Position, +1 possible other one?

I could not, however, pick Bullseye or Arrowtorm (Watcher Only), Troll Feller Strike (Slayer Only), or Staring Contest (Willpower 4+)

My question here is, what restricts which Actions I can purchase, as opposed to which Actions I can actually use?  Are those 2 difference concepts? I don't see anything that directly keys an action type to a specific career (except for a few very specific ones, such as the 3 I noted above)...so is it really just a question of fulfilling the brown text about requirements?

Edited by Rocmistro

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to the wonderful world of WFRP 3e! Some things about this system do seem odd at first, but hopefully it will all start to make sense once you've played a few sessions.

To answer your questions:

1. Yes, you can take any selection of Talents you want, not just the types that appear on your Career sheet. Taking one that everyone can benefit from and slotting it to the Party sheet may well make you very popular with the rest of the group!

2. Apart from exceptions like the ones you mentioned, and Blessings and Spells (which can only be purchased by Priests and Wizards respectively) there are no restrictions on what Action cards you can purchase and use. So a character can purchase any combination of Melee, Ranged and Support Actions. Although of course some characters will benefit more from certain Actions than others.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Thanks so much Karanthir!

Another question that popped up while I was toying around with the system.

The talents, skills, etc. that you make at character creation...none of those things count toward you advancements to fullfilling your career path right?

 

I can't wait to to give this system a try as it looks like a blast.

Edited by Rocmistro

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correct, nothing you purchase at character creation counts towards fulfilling your career path. So say if you purchased 3 Actions at creation and your career allows for 2 actions to be bought as career advances, you could then buy those on top of the original 3.

It's also worth pointing out (because it took my group a while to figure it out) that you spend 10 advances for a career, but only 6 of those will be from the Career sheet choices - the other 4 are the fixed advances Action, Talent, Skill and Wound that you have to take. So in the above example you could actually purchase 3 actions as career advances - 1 as a fixed advance and up to 2 more from the Career sheet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Hrm. ok, I haven't looked too in depth at how to advance.  So, on the back of the Career Card it's got 10 places under the "General Career Advances" section. 1 Action Card, 1 Talent, 1 Skill Training/Specialty, and 1 Wound Threshold, and 6 "Open Career Advances".

To complete this career as I level up, I must;

buy 1 action card (any action card that i fulfill the criteria for) with 1 XP (Advancement Point)

buy 1 talent with 1 XP (Advancement Point)

train in one skill (or purchase a specialty for a skill I have already trained) with 1 XP (Advancement Point)

increase my wounds by 1 with 1 XP (Advancement Point)

Additionally, I get 6 other "Open Advancements", which must be part of the schema on the FRONT of my career character sheet.  So, for my Barger-Surgeon example, I have:

Action: 2

Talent: 1

Skill: 2

Fortune: 2

Conservative: 1

Reckless: 1

Wound: 1

 

That means, with his 6 other "Open Advancements", that I have to pick some combination of 6 of the above items assuming I want to complete my career properly.

So, for example, if I picked 1 Action, 1 Talent, 1 Skill, 1 Fortune, a Reckless counter and 1 Wound, (in addition to the 4 required items)  I would have successfully completed my Career Advancement, and then could go into my next career keeping my dedication bonus.  (However, if I picked 3 Actions, 3 Talents, I would not have completed the career properly. I could still go into a new career, but I would not get the Dedication Bonus.)

Edited by Rocmistro

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, again that's correct (more or less). Just to break it down a bit more:

In addition to the 10 advances on the front of the career sheet, you could also choose to spend open advances on improving your career primary characteristics. So for your Barber-Surgeon you could improve Int or Fel. However, as with character creation, this costs a number of XP equal to what the characteristic is being increased to, e.g. raising from 3 to 4 costs 4 XP, and it also counts as that many open advances. So it can be a bit expensive, and you'll miss out on other advances, but it does still count to completing your career (as long as it's one of those primary characteristics).

Non-career advances cost additional XP, and do not counting towards career completion. So that third Talent in your example would cost 2XP and wouldn't be an open career advance.

Now, technically you can stay in a career until you have completed it, or you can leave it at any time even if you have taken fewer than 10 advances. Obviously if you do the latter you don't get the dedication bonus. But the former means that you could get that extra Talent and still work towards getting your dedication bonus. This is why the character sheet has separate sections for career advances and non-career advances.

Basically, the advance system is a bit odd compared to other RPGs. Rank is tied directly to how much XP you've spent, but careers are independent of that. So you reach Rank 2 when you've spend 10XP, but you could enter a second career before that if you want. Bear in mind too, that it costs XP to enter a new career anyway, so even if you complete your first career you wouldn't be entering the second one until you've spent 10-14XP anyway (depending on career and race).

Advancing is one of the more complicated parts of the system, but it makes sense once you get the hang of it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok so a couple new questions.

1. If you swap out a talent card using a maneuver, after it's been exhausted, and while it's still recharging, do the recharge tokens continue to move off it?

example; i have 2 reputation talents...Strong Willed and Ascetic Upbringing.  I exhaust Strong Willed to remove a fatigue and a stress and put 4 recharge tokens on it.  Then I then use a maneuver to "swap it out" so  I can socket in Ascetic Upbringing.  Do the 4 recharge tokens on Strong Willed get removed (1 per round) while it's unsocketed?

 

2.  Do "Assess the Situation" or "Improved Guarded Positions" (or really any other action card that doesn't have a "vs.  xxxx" kind of language start with a single challenge die in order to use?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

1. I can't find an answer to this anywhere, but I assume the talent would continue to recharge even when it's not "active". That's what I'd rule as a GM anyway, but I suppose you could argue it either way.

2. As per page 2 of the Errata and FAQ, "Unless indicated otherwise, the default challenge level for Melee Attack and Ranged Attack actions is Easy (1d). Unless indicated otherwise, the default difficulty for other actions, such as casting a spell or invoking a blessing, is Simple (0d)." So your example actions would have no challenge dice (unless the GM decides to add some).

Hope that helps!

(Btw, things are a bit dead around here these days, as you may have noticed. The Strike to Stun forums are the go-to place for WFRP now. There still aren't many of us discussing 3e, but probably more than here.)

Edited by Karanthir

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/28/2018 at 7:54 AM, Rocmistro said:

1. If you swap out a talent card using a maneuver, after it's been exhausted, and while it's still recharging, do the recharge tokens continue to move off it?

From The Player's Guide (page 24):

"Some talent cards require the player to exhaust them in order to generate its effects. To exhaust a talent, it is placed
face down, still attached to its corresponding socket. Then place four recharge tokens on the card. While any
recharge tokens remain, the talent is not available, and cannot be exchanged for a different talent.
"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To elaborate a bit on actions.

All actions "vs Defence" has a base difficulty of 1 challenge die, actions "vs defence" also add misfortune dice based on the targets defence plus any difficulty modifier on the action card.

Other actions with a vs has a difficulty depending the  the target as per opposed checks. So for example Fear me! which is Intimidate (St) vs Target Discipline(WP) would depend on the acting characters Strength compared the targets Willpower.

Lastly, actions with no target, only has the difficulty modifier. So assess the situation for example has no challenge die, allthough a challenge die could be added to the check if you're engaged with an enemy as per the special text on that card.

:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/5/2018 at 6:23 AM, k7e9 said:

Other actions with a vs has a difficulty depending the  the target as per opposed checks. So for example Fear me! which is Intimidate (St) vs Target Discipline(WP) would depend on the acting characters Strength compared the targets Willpower.

To elaborate even further.

If the Opposing (i.e. Target of the action's) characteristic is:

  • Less than half of the acting characteristic: add 0 Challenge dice
  • Less than the acting characteristic: +1 Challenge die
  • Equal to the acting characteristic: +2 Challenge dice
  • Greater than the acting characteristic: +3 Challenge dice
  • Twice as great as the acting characteristic: +4 Challenge dice

In addition, the Target's skills and specialisations may add misfortune dice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×