Jump to content
gTrezona23

Question on grenades

Recommended Posts

This is probably a stupid question, but how do grenades work.  Impact grenades are range 1 with one black dice.  If I have that on a squad of storm troopers how exactly would I use them?  Is it considered an attack? Would I just be rolling one black dice even in a squad of 5?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rules ref pg 44 under Upgrades

Some upgrade cards feature the hard point or grenade icons; these are weapon upgrades. These upgrades do not add any minis to a unit; instead, every mini in that unit may use that weapon when attacking the enemy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, DarkHorse said:

Rules ref pg 44 under Upgrades

 

 

Thanks, so just to clarify.  If a squad of troopers is attacking with their e11 blasters, they can also add in those extra dice for the grenades?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 minutes ago, gTrezona23 said:

Thanks, so just to clarify.  If a squad of troopers is attacking with their e11 blasters, they can also add in those extra dice for the grenades?

No. Check step 2b in the attack sequence on page 14 of the RR. By default, each mini is only allowed to choose a single weapon to contribute to the attack pool.

You need other rules/keywords to add multiple weapons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Each mini in a unit has access to the equipment that it takes, as well as the weapon profile that is on its base card.

This means that if you have a basic unit of stormtroopers, you get 4 minis who can use E-11 blasters.

If you buy a fifth regular stormtrooper, all five have E-11 blasters.

If you buy a Heavy Weapon, then that Heavy Weapon Trooper has access to whatever they are equipped with (The HH-12 or the DLT-19), but they also have access to an E-11 blaster, because the base unit card grants Stormtroopers that weapon. (Likewise, it can melee with black dice as the unit card says so).

If you buy a Grenade of some sort, every Stormtrooper mini in that unit can use the grenade instead of their regular weapon (as the upgrade grants them all access to this weapon profile.)

So in the above scenario, you could:

Throw six grenades. OR. You can fire 6 E-11 Blasters. OR you can fire a Heavy Weapon and 5 E-11 Blasters. OR. You can fire a heavy weapon + a combination of up to 5 E-11 blasters and or Grenades. OR. You can fire a combination of up to 6 E-11 Blasters or Grenades.

While you can fire any weapon a model has access to when forming a dice pool, you can only ever pick one of those weapons (unless you have access to something like the Aresenal Keyword).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remember that if you use Impact Grenades because the weapon is given to each trooper , if you use multiple Grenades Impact stacks , so if three troopers throw grenades you would roll 3 black dice and it would have impact 3. This is similar but not quite the same as an Ion rebel trooper that fires his Ion weapon as part of the pool , if any damage that lands on a vehicle will apply an Ion token even if it comes from a white dice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...