Jump to content
Undeadguy

Answered Questions - Email Compilation

Recommended Posts

3 hours ago, toffolone said:

Official FAQ thread just posted. no reason to go on here

 

Not everything covered here is on the Official FAQ yet. Plus we can use this thread to discuss the official FAQ.

Like the fact that T-47 Airspeeders apparently skim the ground and clip barricades.... ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, CaptainRocket said:

Was listening to Legion Outriders podcast ep 8 (http://legionoutriders.libsyn.com/episode-8-what-the-faq), and they mentioned that Alex Davy had responded by email saying compulsory move does not trigger standby, however I don't see that email in this thread. Does anybody have a link to it? 

I also heard this and asked about it on Facebook, consensus there seems to be yes of course the mandatory move triggers standby. But the guys on the podcast seemed pretty definite about a 'ruling'?!?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Caimheul1313 said:

Not everything covered here is on the Official FAQ yet. Plus we can use this thread to discuss the official FAQ.

Like the fact that T-47 Airspeeders apparently skim the ground and clip barricades.... ?

The rule says it can sit on top as long as it is not more than 45 degrees. The barricades are less tall than half the width of the speeder base, so even in the worst case (barricade in centre) the angle between the table and the base will be less than 45 degrees.

T-47s can now fly over barricades without fear. Rejoice!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, colki said:

The rule says it can sit on top as long as it is not more than 45 degrees. The barricades are less tall than half the width of the speeder base, so even in the worst case (barricade in centre) the angle between the table and the base will be less than 45 degrees.

T-47s can now fly over barricades without fear. Rejoice!

So I need to bring a protractor with my gaming stuff now... Or a calculator to work out the angle based on the height and base of the right triangle formed.

Ugh.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, Caimheul1313 said:

So I need to bring a protractor with my gaming stuff now... Or a calculator to work out the angle based on the height and base of the right triangle formed.

Ugh.

Uh, no you don't. Simple trig, if the height is lower than than the base, < 45 degrees. Easy as pi.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, colki said:

Uh, no you don't. Simple trig, if the height is lower than than the base, < 45 degrees. Easy as pi.

Been awhile since I needed that particular aspect of trig, thanks for the refresher ?. Normally I need it for computing the base and height from an angle and a distance to see if the wizard teleported into a stone wall, but that's another story. 

 Of course, the ruling doesn't specify "with respect to the GROUND", so I'm waiting for people to argue "But it's at greater than a 45 degree angle!" pointing at the angle with respect to the terrain it rests on. ? Regardless, I'm not a huge fan of leaving my models on a tilt, so if I should end up fielding an airspeeder again, I'll probably experiment with some kind of holder to keep it from tipping or rolling while on the barricade.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, colki said:

The rule says it can sit on top as long as it is not more than 45 degrees. The barricades are less tall than half the width of the speeder base, so even in the worst case (barricade in centre) the angle between the table and the base will be less than 45 degrees.

T-47s can now fly over barricades without fear. Rejoice!

It also says the base needs to be stable. There are a LOT of cases where the base would not be stable. I wouldn't say there is no fear.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I asked this question due to a situation I had in a game, a bit of niche situation:

Rules Question:
Hi When using force push to move a unit leader which player is responsible for placing the rest of the unit in cohesion? Is it the player using force push or the owner of the unit being pushed? If it’s the pushing player can they place models from the unit off the board if the unit leader is close enough to the edge? Would these elements of the unit be destroyed or is it only if a unit leader is placed off the board?

 

got this as the response:

The player using Force Push puts the rest of the unit in cohesion, and cannot place minis off the table.

 

Very impressed with the super quick response from Alex Davy. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Got a response to a question about timing conflicts (currently only created by Detonate X vs [Charge, Relentless, etc.]). The currently active player gets to choose the order.

Edit: the email that was posted here has since been overruled by the latest RRG. "After action" timing conflicts are now resolved thusly: Standby, then Detonate, then [Charge, Relentless, etc.].

On 10/15/2018 at 7:00 PM, DarkTrooperZero said:

Have been out for a while, have these email responses made it to anything official?

Pretty much everything has either been added to the RRG, added to the FAQ thread, or deemed clear enough that they didn't add it anywhere.

Edited by nashjaee
Removed obsolete email.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...