Jump to content
Undeadguy

Answered Questions - Email Compilation

Recommended Posts

The purpose of this thread is to compile all email responses that answer questions. I will be updating this thread as people post replies, so anyone can quickly scan and find what they are looking for. Feel free to discuss the responses in this thread.

When you post an email, please include the original question if it is not attached to the response. You may also want to remove any personal information. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Hello! Quick question about Star Wars Legion... If I move a group of Troopers with one action, and take a standby token with my second action... could a mini with a cumbersome weapon use that cumbersome weapon if I perform the free attack action while spending the standby token? Thanks and hope all is well!

Updated:

 

 

XAtJk3k2Uqm07UeyjjiKVjLlFz-1RDOjTMh2nVcwmDlD4S5U3fdiM8S813IgNtoJnMHB9kpWa6fnqzcOZ4NF7VDayOKnSFv_EwPhpTO5wgR7XoChniT7rUWznW5wB2PSrHmtkbGB

 

------------------------------------------------

 

 

 

 

dOp0cTo.jpg

----------------------------------------------------

1JAcIZB.png

----------------------------------

Image may contain: text

-------------------------

question.jpg.01566e0aafb3429f35ab0c372afbd51e.jpg

----------------------

Q: A question has come up regarding Force Push. What exactly constitutes a "speed-1 move"? Can I perform any subset of move (i.e., climb or clamber) that is available to the chosen unit, or does it have to be a "standard move" using the movement template?

A: No, you cannot perform any subsets of moves. A speed-1 move is a standard move using the 1 speed template. Climb or clamber cannot performed with Force push.

--------------------

30727630_10214597954799038_4753943450563041536_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=b1764491549d67491d496770123b6b99&oe=5B27B1ACImage may contain: text

------------------

5ade756fdc70f_legionresponse.jpg.adb2a5406c8a27d9c9a2a6b4551511af.jpg

--------------------------------

YPp0xmU.jpg

-------------------------------------

image.png.90071d579e143ae143445866c8753e9b.png

--------------------

email.png.3410d805fe57d9a99904c8c257fec452.png

----------------------

1830270303_Legionrange.jpg.2069f9069ac5f11849b0ea955cd9a0ba.jpg

-----------------

 

Edited by Undeadguy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hey, I have some more questions.
1. Do melee attacks generate suppression?
2. When attacking, are we measuring "at" range or "within"? The rules just say to measure range.
3. If a trooper is at range 1, but the rest of the unit is at range 2, can an AT-RT use a Laser Cannon to attack the unit or does range 2-4 prevent the attack? Or can you only deal wounds to the minis at 2-4?
4. If a trooper is in the front arc of an AT-ST, but the rest of the squad is out of arc, can the AT-ST attack the unit? Or would wounds only be dealt to the mini in arc?
5. When does Standby trigger? It says "after", so would this mean I can use Standby immediately after I am attacked, but before suppression is dealt?
6. Can I use Standby after an enemy unit moves beyond range 2, but started at range 2?
7. Can I use Standby to attack a different target than the one that triggered Standby?
8. Can a unit with Cumbersome (HH-12) move, standby, and attack with the cumbersome weapon (HH-12)?
9. Do unit keywords stack like weapon keywords? The rules are written in a manner that suggests this, but the LTP and RRG do not say so. Or do I get multiple instances of each ability that trigger? So Weiss and an AT-ST will either have Arsenal 4, or 2 instances of Arsenal 2. I'm not sure what the difference is, but people are asking. I think that's all of them for right now.

There are a lot of cover and LOS questions, but I expect that to be addressed with an update to the RRG and an FAQ and is beyond my ability to tell people how the rules work. Thanks for your hard work!
 
j6eSw2j.jpg
----------------------------
Untitled.png.28f4237d19fa4b6c6775fb210444660c.png
---------------------------

Q: When is a "melee" officially over? Immediately when the 2 units no longer have minis in base contact? Or at the end of the attack action? As an example: Luke is in base contact with a non-leader speeder bike mini. He performs an attack action and deals 3 wounds. Is the melee still in effect, causing Luke to move into base contact with the other speeder mini (since Luke has a melee weapon)? 2nd example: Luke is in base contact with 4 out of 6 Stormtroopers. He defeats the 4 he is in contact with. Is he still technically in a melee with the other 2?

 A: A melee between two units lasts until all the miniatures in one of the units are defeated, or one of the minis moves away. In your first example, after Luke defeats the non-leader Speeder Bike, he must be moved into base contact with the leader speeder. In your second example, Luke is indeed still in melee with the two remaining stormtroopers and must be moved into base contact with at least one of them.

-------------------------

email.png.4b8bae9916c95390d692904678f2c480.png

--------------------------

 

Edited by Undeadguy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posting here regarding a rules submission I did, asking the following question:

Quote

Hello! Quick question about Star Wars Legion... If I move a group of Troopers with one action, and take a standby token with my second action... could a mini with a cumbersome weapon use that cumbersome weapon if I perform the free attack action while spending the standby token? Thanks and hope all is well!

Here's the response:

Ua6zh97.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Matt Antilles said:

Has anyone emailed asking for clarification on the Cover rules discrepancy in the RRG?

That's probably redundant right now. Reports from people who attended Adepticon were that the team is clarifying and/or re-writing the LOS and Cover rules in the first edit of the rules. I suggest we wait until this is released before seeking answers.

But do as you will, of course.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, nashjaee said:

That's probably redundant right now. Reports from people who attended Adepticon were that the team is clarifying and/or re-writing the LOS and Cover rules in the first edit of the rules. I suggest we wait until this is released before seeking answers.

But do as you will, of course.

I did last week, heard nothing as of yet, probably cos of the above.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, nashjaee said:

That's probably redundant right now. Reports from people who attended Adepticon were that the team is clarifying and/or re-writing the LOS and Cover rules in the first edit of the rules. I suggest we wait until this is released before seeking answers.

But do as you will, of course.

Hopefully they'll be fixing Area terrain, not sure I like having hills and forests drop down out of the way just because the Leader is adjacent to them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, Undeadguy said:

Nope. Just got that answer. Check above for 10 more answers as well that I just received.

Really awesome answers! Can't wait to see them in the RRG.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Great to see the clarifications to the cover rules. I'm glad that line of sight will be taken into account, and only needing to check if any part of a mini is blocked by terrain to be obscured makes it fairly easy to do without disagreements.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Got a few answers today as well. Nothing surprising, but good to have for the record:

Quote

Q: Regarding the "Speeder X" keyword. When measuring terrain height, are we required to measure from some common datum (i.e., the ground plane), or can we measure from the level that the unit is currently sitting on? In other words, can a "Speeder 1" unit move onto a height-1 level and then use that surface to move onto a height-2 level? If it can, I think it stands to reason that it would need a similar path in order to get back down without damage?

A: Height should be measured from the level that the unit is currently sitting on. A speeder could indeed move onto a height 1 structure and then onto a taller structure, and would indeed need a path back down to move safely

Quote

Q: Can a unit perform the Jump X action more than once in a single activation? Does "treat this action as a move action" trump the fact that Jump is a card action (which is limited to once per activation) for this purpose?

A: No, a unit can Jump only once per turn. It is both a Move action and a Jump action.

Quote

Q: Can a unit combine ranged and melee attacks within a single attack action, assuming they target different defenders?

A: Yes, that is perfectly acceptable.

Quote

Q: Does being in a melee (but not engaged) prevent ranged attacks? Some have taken the line from page 14 below very literally and argue that it means being in a melee *at all* disallows ranged attacks. Is that the intent here?: "During a ranged attack, the attacker and defender are not in a melee, and the attacker can use only weapons that have a blue range (?, ?, ?, ?, ?) icon."

A: No it does not. It just means the attacker cannot use ranged weapons against the unit it is in base contact with. It can attack a different unit with ranged weapons, as long as it is not engaged.

speeder_email.jpg

jump_email.jpg

amW2tO5.jpg

0bKqDqB.jpg

Edited by nashjaee
Added screenshots

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've compiled (and condensed) most of the above clarifications for easy reference.

Attacks

  • A unit in base to base with an enemy unit can only make melee attacks against that unit
  • A unit in melee (but NOT engaged) may make ranged attacks against other units.
  • A unit with Arsenal may perform a melee attack against one unit and ranged attack(s) against different unit(s).
  • Melee attacks DO NOT generate suppression.
  • Range is measured "at" (except for deployment zones).
  • A unit is at range of its closest mini. For example, a range 2–4 weapon cannot attack a unit if some minis are at range 1 and some are at range 2.
  • Firing arcs: if at least 1 of a unit's mini is in arc, you can attack that unit.

Cover & LOS

The rules on RR page 8 is to help players determine what terrain elements will provide cover during the game, but is determined before the game begins. You DO NOT use the 50% rule during the game.

The rules for determining obscured minis will be updated as follows:

The player checks line of sight from the attacker’s unit to each mini in the defending unit. If any part of a defending mini, including its base, is blocked by a piece of terrain or another mini, the player then traces an imaginary line from the centre of the base of the attacker’s unit leader to the centre of the base of the defending mini. If the imaginary line crosses either that piece of terrain or the base of the mini that blocked line of sight, that mini is obscured. The player repeats this process for each mini in the defender to determine how many of those minis are obscured.

This prevents immersion-breaking scenarios. Essentially it’s a 2 step process:

  1. 1.      Check line of sight; if the mini is behind a piece of terrain but loS is not blocked to any part of that mini, the mini is not obscured.
  2. 2.      Draw an imaginary line from the centre of the base of the attacker’s unit leader to the centre of the base of the defending mini. If the imaginary line crosses a piece of terrain or another unit’s base, that mini is obscured.

If at least half the defender’s minis are obscured, the defender has cover. The type of cover (none, light, heavy) should have been determined for each type of miniature at the start of the game.

Area terrain is a flat template decorated with removable elements (e.g. a forest). True line of sight is not used for the removable elements, instead, the entire base should be treated as the border of the terrain. A normal forest does not block line of sight. However, you may have a dense forest that blocks LoS when it is between two units , but not blocking LoS if a unit’s leader is within the forest.

Standby

  • Standby triggers after any suppression is gained from an attack.
  • Standby can only be used if an enemy unit ends its turn at range 1–2 (i.e. if it moves beyond range 2, Standby does not trigger).
  • Standby can be used to attack a different target than the one that triggered it.
  • A unit with Cumbersome (e.g. HH-12) can attack with Standby even if it moved in its activation.

General Rules

  • Unit keywords stack: Arsenal 2 + Arsenal 2 = Arsenal 4.
  • Grenade keywords stack: if 6 troopers use Impact grenades, the attack gains Impact 6.
  • Height should be measured from the level that the unit is currently sitting on. A unit with Speeder 1 can move onto a height 1 structure and then onto a taller structure, and would indeed need a path back down to move safely.
  • A unit can Jump only once per turn. It is both a Move action and a Jump action.
Edited by Ghost Dancer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello all,

@ Gost Dancer :

Just to comment these 2 points :

  • A unit is at range of its closest mini. For example, a range 2–4 weapon cannot attack a unit if some minis are at range 1 and some are at range 2.
  • Firing arcs: wounds can only be dealt to minis in the attacker’s firing arc

Are you sure of the first point as it seems not really indicated like that in Alex's email ?

If you apply the rule like the second point, that means you could wounded only minis at range 2-4 but you can make an attack. Minis at less than 2 or more than 4 can't be  touched.

What do you think ?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/14/2018 at 5:01 AM, Ghost Dancer said:
  • A unit is at range of its closest mini. For example, a range 2–4 weapon cannot attack a unit if some minis are at range 1 and some are at range 2.
  • Firing arcs: wounds can only be dealt to minis in the attacker’s firing arc.

 

On 4/14/2018 at 10:40 AM, Mastergo - Team du Sud said:

Hello all,

@ Gost Dancer :

Just to comment these 2 points :

  • A unit is at range of its closest mini. For example, a range 2–4 weapon cannot attack a unit if some minis are at range 1 and some are at range 2.
  • Firing arcs: wounds can only be dealt to minis in the attacker’s firing arc

Are you sure of the first point as it seems not really indicated like that in Alex's email ?

If you apply the rule like the second point, that means you could wounded only minis at range 2-4 but you can make an attack. Minis at less than 2 or more than 4 can't be  touched.

What do you think ?

 

I didn't catch this the first time, but I read the rule as being able to attack the unit if 1 mini is in arc, just like the range question. It would be consistent and the TOs in my area agree that's how it is done. 

I can see the confusion, because I said  "or". 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pretty sure my first point is correct as as Alex says range 2-4 prevents the attack, meaning the target unit is at range 1.

For the second one, it was a 2 part question to which Alex simply replied 'yes' - I assumed this meant yes to both parts. However, this one is open to interpretation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...