Sign in to follow this  
Archon879

Promo Characters

I’m relatively new to the game and missed the first few promo characters. I love the game and I’m dying to own all the characters, but I may not be interested in buying a bunch of novellas. Will there be any accommodation for fans like myself? When can I buy a “character pack” or whatever, to increase my play options? I realize the game is still young, but come on... I pay money for new characters. How long must I wait, and why?? There must be another way to get them...

Edited by Archon879

From the initial announcement of the books:

Each Arkham Horror novella comes with five cards for Arkham Horror: The Card Game that are exclusive to the novella

So it looks like the only way to get them is by buying the books.

I notice though, that each signature card and weakness of the novella investigators has the “Replacement” keyword, just like Roland and Jenny’s alternate novella versions. Makes me wonder if ALL these new investigators will be represented with alternate art and compulsory cards later on. 

I don’t care if they’re different versions, as long as I can get these characters by more direct means. 

From what I understand each ”novella investigator” will be available in a Deluxe eventually.

Just a question of when, I guess.

Marie is the only one I have doubts about as her “regular” version was included with the book instead of the replacement one.

They have stated outright several times that Marie will be released as part of a regular expansion. And you will eventually have access to all the novella characters. The signature and weakness replacement cards are what are going to be mechanically different. Even the alt-art investigator cards list their non-replacement signature and weakness cards.

Edited by mwmcintyre

7 hours ago, Turtlefan2082 said:

That may be the case, but I am believing them less and less with each deluxe expansion.