Sign in to follow this  
Bhelliom

Raven Tabards, Faceoffs, and Initiative

I'm fairly new to the world of Raven Tabards, but I'm a pretty quick convert. Historically, I passed it over because I liked the opportunity to charge late in the turn, and, being a Daqan player that played almost exclusively against Waiqar, I generally didn't have much competition for charges anyway. Once Death Knights came to the scene, it shook things up - they charge 2 at init 3, 3 at init 5, and (critically) 3 at init 9, matching or beating Oathsworn. So I got to thinking, how do I get the upper hand...

Early:

• Oathsworn charge 1 at 3, 2 at 4
  • Death Knights charge 2 at 3
  • Leonx charge 2 at 3, 3 at 4
  • Flesh Rippers charge 2 at 3 (3 with Dead Sprint)

Late:

• Oathsworn charge 4 at 7
  • Death Knights charge 4 at 7, 3 at 9
  • Leonx charge 4 at 7
  • Flesh Rippers charge 4 at 7 (5 with Dead Sprint)

Oathsworn:

• Aren't much good at turning or positioning, want to engage head on
  • Do not have advantage over other factions early or late
  • Get access to a Heraldry slot at 2x2,
  • Since their gameplan has to involve "charge headlong", they want to be in a position to do it

Death Knights:

• Mostly match the early options of other factions, and have the latest move in the game at 9
  • Don't get access to a Heraldry upgrade until the hugely expensive 2x3
  • Might be worth taking when available since 8 is still quite late, but who's taking a 2x3 of Death Knights?

Leonx:

• Great at early charges
  • Heraldry at 2x2
  • Raven Tabards solidifies their early-turn dominance
  • Uniquely they have a Blue Shift and Rally. Bringing the Rally down to 7 isn't likely to have much impact, but Shift at 5 is a nice boost.

Flesh Rippers:

• Never get a Heraldry slot
  • Dead Sprint is a pretty big deal. 3 at 3 is great, and 5 at 7 is quite interesting. I expect to see it lots.

Conclusions:

• Cav are fragile for their points - do not want to take charges, want to be the ones charging.