Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
GoblynByte

Who can gain Suppression?

Recommended Posts

I think there is some ambiguity on who can gain Suppression tokens. When discussing gaining Suppression, the Rules Reference uses the term "unit." But when discussing the consequences of Suppression it either uses the term "troopers," or (in the case of Panic) refers to "units" which are usually immune to the effect. So, as far as I can tell, there are no consequences to having suppression spelled out for non-trooper units, but non-trooper units are not explicitly excluded from gaining it.

Should I just not bother giving non-troopers suppression? Or am I missing something?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, GoblynByte said:

I think there is some ambiguity on who can gain Suppression tokens. When discussing gaining Suppression, the Rules Reference uses the term "unit." But when discussing the consequences of Suppression it either uses the term "troopers," or (in the case of Panic) refers to "units" which are usually immune to the effect. So, as far as I can tell, there are no consequences to having suppression spelled out for non-trooper units, but non-trooper units are not explicitly excluded from gaining it.

Should I just not bother giving non-troopers suppression? Or am I missing something?

Vehicles can’t be suppressed nor panic. (They have no courage value) So, no, do not assign suppression tokens to them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Derrault said:

Vehicles can’t be suppressed nor panic. (They have no courage value) So, no, do not assign suppression tokens to them.

Or you can give them to vehicles, but they have no effect :P. In the end it is the same.

If you follow the RRG even vehicles should get suppression tokens, even when it is pointless (and honestly, no one will do it....).
But it might be that this becomes important with future cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Tokra said:

Or you can give them to vehicles, but they have no effect :P. In the end it is the same.

If you follow the RRG even vehicles should get suppression tokens, even when it is pointless (and honestly, no one will do it....).
But it might be that this becomes important with future cards.

Only troopers can gain suppression tokens.

RRG p. 15:

During an attack, if at any point the attack dice in an attack pool produce at least one hit or critical result and the defender is a trooper, the defender gains a suppression token.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, Alathazal said:

Only troopers can gain suppression tokens.

RRG p. 15:

During an attack, if at any point the attack dice in an attack pool produce at least one hit or critical result and the defender is a trooper, the defender gains a suppression token.

This happens with inconsequent rules ;).

This sentense is missing in the Suppression part of the RRG on page 41-42. The wording there is:

Quote


Units can gain suppression tokens in various ways. Units with suppression tokens improve their cover but can suffer penalties when they are activated.
...
• After an attack, if the attack dice produced at least one hit () or critical () result, the defender gains a suppression token

But only tropper can gain cover, lose Actions and become paniced. As well on page 42. This is why i said that vehicles can get Tokens but they have no effect.

The part you linked is different and say only trooper can get Tokens (what is more logically).

 

Second part that is different:
On page 15 it is written: during an attack. In this case the trooper get the token right after the attack roll and has suddenly cover 1 for this attack.
On page 42 is it written: After an attack (the way it should be).

Edited by Tokra

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, Alathazal said:

Only troopers can gain suppression tokens.

RRG p. 15:

During an attack, if at any point the attack dice in an attack pool produce at least one hit or critical result and the defender is a trooper, the defender gains a suppression token.

That's the line I was missing. Excellent. Thank you. It would have been much better if they had placed that essential bit of info regarding suppression under the rules for... ya know... suppression. This at least clarifies the rule.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...