Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
MamoruK

Crafting expendetures

Recommended Posts

So the rules for crafting state that the player can spend advantage/triumphs, THEN the GM can spend threat/despair. Can someone point me in the direction of a clarification on this because for the longest time I thought they just cancel out like normal. However rereading this it seems that both advantage and threat are spent. I've messeged the devs about it but if there is already a post somewhere that gives a definitive answer I would like to know where it is.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's a challenge. I think there was a clarification that the normal rules are followed somewhere in the dev questions thread. Will try to find it.

A source is tricky as there isn't normally a need to add "follow the rules for rolling dice that apply everywhere else in the game" after a rule section.

(Though it's a bit of a shame as normally one or two threats just add character).

Oggdude's also interprets it that way, which indicates its usually the mainstream interpretation.

Actually, just looks like references to a PodCast with the Devs : 

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/247085-crafting-ruleinterpretation

 

Edited by Darzil

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is just deliiniating the exact order of interpreting the dice result. in other roles, the order of what is spent first can be fluid and dependant on the circumstances.

But for crafting, the Devs clearly want it to be specific.

PC Spends ANY uncancelled advantage/Triumph they have

THEN

The GM spends any uncancelled threat/Dispair that remains

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It depends what you want, funk du master is right, but is it more interesting to apply both triumph and despairs effects onto the modified equipment? It is up to the gm but RAW is what master funk fu wrote earlier. 

I have right now a specialist in mods and I recommend you to not let your player try to correct the wrong doings on is mods without making it harder or alot of setbacks. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think I heard some rumbling that only with crafting, do threat and advantage not cancel each other out. Which might give reason for players wanting to use their advantage to remove difficulty dice from their rolls. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't done it, but I've always been a fan of allowing the player to choose if and/or how many of the advantages cancel.  That way a player takes the risk to get more advantages while giving the GM more room to make the weapon more unique.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...