Jump to content
Crit Happens

Does standby work with a cumbersome weapon?

Recommended Posts

24 minutes ago, Crabbok said:

But both the thematics, AND the rules support it 100%.   The fact that I'm looking at both of them doesn't change a thing.   

 

  They specify THIS activation, for a reason.  Hence, they are specifically allowed to shoot during another activation.  Heck, it seems standby was made specifically for units like this on purpose.  

I really could care less how it's ruled. This is similar to FCT and Yavaris, so I'm fine if you can use HH-12 on standby after a move. It makes cumbersome much more powerful and useful. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 hours ago, Lord Tareq said:

"If a unit performs a move during its activation, it cannot perform an attack with a weapon that has the cumbersome keyword"

 

Seems to me that if you move, you cannot attack at all with a cumbersome weapon regardless of Standby. Note that it doesn't specifically say "during its activation" after "cannot perform an attack", it only says it cannot perform an attack, period.

But using that logic of constraint, it could never attack again for the rest of the game, period.  "Oh you moved in Turn 1? Too bad, you can't attack for the rest of the game..."  The implied limitation of the constraint is "...during its activation", or else its useless for the remainder of the game after the first time it moves.

Sorry, Crabbok has to be right on this one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heard back from Alex Davy on this. Here’s his response to my rules query. Will post a pic when I can...

Hi Kal,

 
Yes, a unit performing an attack thanks to a standby token can indeed use a cumbersome weapon, even if it moved during its activation.
 
Cheers,
Alex Davy
Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games”

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, KalEl814 said:

Heard back from Alex Davy on this. Here’s his response to my rules query. Will post a pic when I can...

Hi Kal,

 
Yes, a unit performing an attack thanks to a standby token can indeed use a cumbersome weapon, even if it moved during its activation.
 
Cheers,
Alex Davy
Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games”

When you get a pic, can you post it in this thread as well?

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/273458-answered-questions-email-compilation/

I am trying to compile all answers. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...