Jump to content
WickedWicks

Regarding Defense stacking (From the FAQ)

Recommended Posts

"Answered by Sam Stewart:

We are currently re-evaluating how personal scale defense works in the game, and may have a more comprehensive answer in the future. So at this point, we cannot answer your question."

 

Has this been settled?

 

Hypothetical case:

Armored Robes (Defense 1)

Cortosis Shield (Defensive 2, Deflection 2)

 

Currently RAW the character would end with 2 Ranged and 2 Melee Defense, right? In the same FAQ they were not stacking Defensive properties with the Armored Robe's base Defense.

 

Link to the FAQ (Under "General Combat Questions"): https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/108101-ffg-developer-answered-questions/

 

 

Thanks for your time. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's not correct. The latest errata clarifies this. Sources of Defense break down into two categories, those that stack and those that don't. Sources that provide a static Defense value, such as armour, cover etc, don't stack. Sources that increase Defense, such as equipment with Defensive, do stack. So, in the example case, Armored Robes and a Cortosis Shield would provide 3 Melee and 3 Ranged Defense, not 2 of each.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Dafydd said:

That's not correct. The latest errata clarifies this. Sources of Defense break down into two categories, those that stack and those that don't. Sources that provide a static Defense value, such as armour, cover etc, don't stack. Sources that increase Defense, such as equipment with Defensive, do stack. So, in the example case, Armored Robes and a Cortosis Shield would provide 3 Melee and 3 Ranged Defense, not 2 of each.

Could you provide me a link for the correction? This is a game changer!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for the errata guys, my group completely missed it.

 

2 hours ago, Random Bystander said:

I was responding to the original posters example...

Watch out, by the new rules my example is 3/3, not 2/2. The shield DOES stack with the Armor. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Random Bystander said:

Interesting- haven’t got the book by my hand currently- what’s the exact wording on the shield?

It's a melee weapon with Defensive 2 and Deflect 2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
20 minutes ago, Random Bystander said:

Disagree - looking at the book it just has stats of defence and deflection so these do not stack on top of other defence / deflection items

 

it specifically needs to say adds to

 

but that’s just my opinion

The errata specifically said that atributes that say "increase defense" do stack.

 

And from the book, Defensive reads as: "A character wielding a weapon with the Defensive quality increases his melee defense by the weapon’s Defensive rating."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Shields (and defensive/deflective weapons) definitely stack with armour/cover etc. the rules come from Genesys and FFG developed a module for GenCon that had a pre gen character with armour and a shield that stacked.

So a character can carry a Cortosis shield (Defensive 2, Deflection 2), an Ancient Sword (Defensive 1), and wear a Kormondian Half Vest (Defense 1) to have 4 melee and 3 Ranged Defence right from the start. Make it a Guard Shoto with training emitter and you can have 4 Ranged and Melee Defence!

Obviosly it’s not for every character, but at least there are ways to make cover work better for you now. And at least the limit of 4 is there to keep players reasonable.

 

Edited by Richardbuxton

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...